Friday, November 30, 2012

The Wild Princess by Mary Hart Perry

Reviewed by Laura Kay


Princess Louise, daughter of Queen Victoria was not your ordinary princess. Not happy with her artistic education with tutors  the Princess fought with her mother to allow her to send her off to art school for a proper artistic education.

It's at art school where the Princess learns about a whole new world, new people, lifestyles--a freedom she had never experienced before and a love that was new to her.

The story begins on the day of Princess Louise's marriage, an arranged marriage. The bridegroom is The Duke of Argyle Lorne. He is handsome and Princess Louise believes she will be very happy, but Lorne has a secret that destroys any chance of the future the Princess wants.

Living only a half life, Princess Louise has her mother's American secret service man, Stephen Byrn--the Raven go in search of a former male friend of her's from art school. A young man who simply disappeared. While searching for the young man, Stephen begins to see the Princess as how she once was--young, beautiful and full of life.

While all this is going on, there is a plot by the Irish to kidnap the Queen and an even bigger threat to the Princess and her closest friend.

I just LOVED this book! I've not read lots of historical fiction, but I have to say I'm hooked! I loved Princess Louise and I wanted more than anything for her to find happiness! I know I will be waiting to read more by Mary Hart Perry! (oh I just love the cover, too!). Highly recommend!!!!

Follow Mary Hart Perry

Buy a copy of The Wild Princess by Mary Hart Perry

Thursday, November 29, 2012

I am Lucky Bird by Fleur Philips


Reviewed by Charlotte


Twelve year old Lucky Bird finds herself thrown into adulthood when her mother vanishes from a small town in Montana.  When she finally manages to escape an abusive grandmother and the grandmother’s lover, she finds herself into a whole nother world of trouble.  As she heads down a dangerous path, trying to outrun her past.  She meets an amazing family.  If she can meet her past head on there is hope that she can get a normal life finally.

Child abuse is an incredibly tough topic for any person to tackle.   Fleur Philips wrote about it beautifully.  I found myself caring for Lucky Bird and praying that she would finally find her happiness.  I found myself unable to put the book down having to know if she would finally free her demons and find her happy ever after.  I felt that quote really tells why Lucky’s life is as it is.  “Every event that happens in life, happens for a reason, every person you meet, every tragedy that unfolds, every small bit of good that’s bestowed upon you.  There’s a reason for it.”

The plot moves along quickly and the story pulls you right in.  I am Lucky Bird is a worthy read.  It is not light and easy, it will pull at your heart and makes you truly care for Lucky Bird.

Follow Fleur Philips

I am Lucky Bird by Fleur Philips

I was asked to review I am Lucky Bird by BookSparksPR.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

reviewed by Laura Kay


OVERVIEW (Barnes & Noble):

Here's a story about love and loss as only Chris Rashcka can tell it. Any child who has ever had a beloved toy break will relate to Daisy's anguish when her favorite ball is destroyed by a bigger dog. In the tradition of his nearly wordless picture book Yo! Yes?, Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka explores in pictures the joy and sadness that having a special toy can bring. Raschka's signature swirling, impressionistic illustrations and his affectionate story will particularly appeal to young dog lovers and teachers and parents who have children dealing with the loss of something special.
Winner of the 2012 Caldecott Medal
A New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book of 2011


A BALL FOR DAISY, is a hardbound wordless book. From the illustrations the story is that of a dog who loves his ball, loses his ball and gains a new friend.

I sat down with my 5 and 3 year old and really wasn't sure what to expect. I can't say I've ever bought a book without words, I sure didn't expect much to be honest with you. Wow was I wrong! Both kids LOVED this book! With each picture they started telling me the story they say on the pages (and yes most of the time telling me at the same time, lol). Not only were they extra animated, but we easily discussed "feelings of losing a toy" and "how do we behave when someone accidentally breaks something of ours." Not only did they both enjoy it, but my three year old has been dragging it around the house so she can "read" it by herself!

This would make a fantastic Christmas gift for your pre-readers! Definite recommend!

Buy a copy for a little one at Barnes & Noble or Amazon!

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


You Tell Your Dog First by Alison Pace + Giveaway


Reviewed by Charlotte


Alison Pace is an author known for her “dog lit” books, but for many years she has a been a dog lover without a dog.  She grew up with numerous dogs of many shapes and sizes always being a huge part of her family.  You Tell Your Dog First is a story of how a dog person without a dog completes her life by finding the perfect dog for her.

Alison writes a series of short stories or essays in her book You Tell Your Dog First of living a dogless life.  Living in New York it is not easy to find a dog friendly apartment, but she proves if you want it bad enough you can make it happen.  Myself, not being a dog person, rolled my eyes and sighed a few times at some of the extremes, like arranging her schedule so Carly would be at he dog park at the right time meet her “friends” or going to a therapist because Carly liked to go.  But again I am not a dog person, but I do rearrange my schedule and do things just cause of my kids so I could easily relate.  

I enjoyed that this was a dogs story, but also the owners story.  Her struggles with places to live, where to work, if the works she was doing is what she should be doing, and of course the trials that come with dating and finding Mr. Right.  Many times I could relate and sympathize with Alison.

Alison’s writing is wonderful.  Wisdom and humor are so easy to enjoy and read.  You can truly feel Alison’s joy in finding her dog mate.  You Tell Your Dog First is a quick read that any dog lover should definitely check out.

Buy You Tell Your Dog First by Alison Pace


Strawberry Wine by Lee Adams


Reviewed by Charlotte

Tanya Smith spent every summer at Laurel Lake with her family.  At the lake she has a special group of best friends  only this year there is an addition to that group with Marie having moved to the town.  When that summer is over and Tanya leaves she leaves with a broken heart and does not plan on returning to Laurel Lake for any long term stays again.

Ten years later, Tanya gets a call from Marie’s lawyer that forces her to deal with past and make a future that she never dreamed of.    She finds herself back at Laurel Lake and facing what she left behind.

I read Strawberry Wine in one sitting.  I could not stop, caught in the web of the story by the first chapter.  Laurel Lake reminds me of the wonderful visits I had during my childhood to my grandparents.  The summer friends I made and the memories I still cherish.

The fact that the plot was not as simple as I thought it was going to be made me love the story even more.  The falling love, first love, heading to heart break and the end of summer made Strawberry Wine unable to be put down.  Then to bring it back to the future following the lives of those summer friends and intertwining them as adults, I had to know the ending.

Lee Adams wrote a book where you can connect with the characters easily and truly care about their story and feelings.  This could be the book I give to my friends for their birthdays.  Any reader will be sorry if they pass it up.

Follow Lee Adams
Buy Strawberry Wine by Lee Adams

As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

How the Grinch Stole Christmas! by Dr. Seuss

Reviewed by Laura Kay


Overview (from Barnes & Noble):

The Grinch, whose heart is two sizes too small, hates Who-ville's holiday celebrations, and plans to steal all the presents to prevent Christmas from coming. To his amazement, Christmas comes anyway, and the Grinch discovers the true meaning of the holiday.
The Grinch tries to stop Christmas from arriving by stealing all the presents and food from the village, but much to his surprise it comes anyway.

Seriously, Dr. Seuss at his best! I remember having this book read to me as a little girl, but I'm going to be honest and say I've not read it to my little ones. It's one and has always been one of my favorite stories, but when you see it every year on television you sort of forget to sit down and read it with your kids.

What a great book to sit down with and talk to our kids while reading it. Why do you think Christmas is important? Why do our kids? It's such a powerful story about really remembering the greater meaning behind the holiday, it's not just about the toys. My kids have seen the cartoon every year, but sitting with them and reading HOW THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS was more fun than watching the cartoon (but we will still watch), it was fun talking to them--I sometimes forget to stop while watching a program and find out what they are thinking. Reading to them allows me to remember to take the time.

This is one I'm sure you read as a kid and should read with yours :) Highly recommend!

Buy a copy of How the Grinch Stole Christmas! by Dr. Seuss today!

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Rick and Wylie’s Fantastical, Magical Adventure Book 1 by And Katsina

reviewed by Charlotte

Before going on vacation with her dad, Rick, Wylie purchases a bag of costume jewelry to use for a school project.  Among the jewelry is a teardrop shaped pebble.  Little did they know how incredibly valuable and powerful this pebble was.

While on vacation in Hawaii, they see Mr. Fang, the odd jeweler from home that upon seeing the pebble wanted to keep it.  On the last day Mr. Fang brews up a magical storm that manages to capsize the tour boat Rick and Wylie are on.  This causes Rick and Wylie to get separated.
Both Rick and Wylie get thrown into magical and mystical worlds.  Wylie must wake up the sleeping Menehume Kingdom.  Rick just wants to find his daughter.

Honestly, I read about 200 pages, 1/3 of the book, and was so confused I had to stop.  I rarely do not finish any book.  I started and tried very hard to continue, but the words just didn’t mean anything to me.
In reading, I did love the descriptions of the scenery.  I could picture Hawaii and I have never been there.  Wylies excitement at seeing the dolphins and spending time with her dad was easy to feel and understand.

The idea of the story was great, but just did not capture my attention.

Buy a copy Rick & Wylie's Fantastical, Magical Adventures Book 1

FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, November 26, 2012

Redemption on the River by Loren DeShon

reviewed by Charlotte

Silas Jacobson shoots a wasps nest, which of course, causes the wasps to attack.  This causes the death of his father.  With all the guilt he decides to leave the farm.  He travels on the Mississippi River meeting many interesting people.  Silas manages to get in brawls, visit cathouses, learn to gamble, and fall in love.

During Silas’ travels he meets a woman.  This woman has a secret so deep and dark it would change everything if it was to be told.   Silas has to make some tough decisions concerning this woman he has fallen for.  He manages to stay true to who he is, but will he end up with the woman?
Redemption on the River is set in 1848 along the Mississippi River.  I felt like it was a grown up story of Huck Finn.  While getting a lot of history out of the story it didn’t feel like a history lesson.  The story was just told and flowed so smoothly.  Loren DeShon obviously did a lot of research and was able to perfectly take those facts and put them into an attention grabbing story.

The story touches on some very real issues of the 1800’s, racism and slavery predominately.  Deuring this time these things were the norm and some people were beginning to see how unmoral they were.  The Granger Family is a great example of how a small group of people can make a difference to so many people.  Not many people are willing to put their necks out on the line to help others as this family does throughout the whole story.

As Silas traveled it was easy to picture the places he visited and the people he met.  The descriptions were so graphic it felt as though I was next to Silas on the boats, in the cathouses, or at the local bar.  I loved all the incredibly interesting people he ran into throughout the whole book.
I would highly recommend this book to everyone.  It is a great gift idea and I am very thankful that I got the opportunity to read it.

Follow Loren DeShon

Buy Redemption on the River by Loren DeShon
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Friday, November 23, 2012

Bicoastal Babe by Cynthia Langston

reviewed by Charlotte

Lindsey Miller got a dream job tracking the hot trends and writing about it in “The Pulse.”  The only problem is she isn’t really sure what the hot trends are or how to track them.  By taking this job, she has to give up the comforts of her home in Chicago and become a Bicoastal Babe, spending a couple weeks in New York and a couple in Los Angeles.

In each location she is on the “in” list to visit all the hot spots.  Getting invited to the hottest clubs, cafes, and parties is a huge perk.  Lindsey also has a boyfriend in each city and feels guilty about this.  When her partner portrays her as un-hip during a television interview she fears her job is over and that she will have to decided whether to live in glamourous Manhatten, laid back New York, or head home to Chicago.  

I read this book quickly.  The writing and story flowed together perfectly, keeping the story going with no lagging.  Lindsey is the character I instantly loved.  She is so real with flaws and all. The fact the Lindsey took her dream job with very little knowledge of what to do made me shake my head and smile, but I loved that she never gave up and eventually became the stronger of the two ladies writing “The Pulse.”

The ending (I won’t give it away) left me hoping for a sequel.  Never ever would I have ever thought up an ending like Cynthia Langston did, but I loved it.  Everything about BiCoastal Babe was wonderful.  I would highly recommend this to any of my girlfriends. 

Follow Cynthia Langston

Buy BICOASTAL BABE
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

The Charmed Soul by Christine Wenrick


Reviewed by Charlotte



Olivia has left Caleb on his own to realize that their love is true, not something he feels because she is a Charmed.  While Caleb is figuring this out, Olivia goes with the Brethern to learn and train her special skills.  While training Olivia finds out the true story of her family, including that she has a family member still alive.

Olivia returns to Caleb, after he comes for her.   Alec, Olivia’s guardian must accompany her to be sure she is kept safe.  Alec and Gemma start having feelings and a relationship starts.  This causes Jax, the matriarch of the coven to hide his hurt feelings over Gemma leaving the house to live at the condo in the city.  Olivia pushes both Jax and Gemma to discuss their feelings in hope of a happy ending for them both.

The Charmed Soul is book two of the Charmed Series.  Many times in a series the follow-up nooks do not live up to the original book, in this series that is not the truth.  If anything this book was better then the first book.  The story of Olivia continued as if it never ended, picking up right where book one took off.

I loved how the piano from the first book (incredibly hot scene) was included with another incredibly hot scene.  The love and attraction Olivia and Caleb felt for each other was portrayed as so intense and personal that at times I felt myself blushing or feeling like I should look away.

At the end of the first book I was hoping that the follow up book would have more of  Jax and Gemma’s story and Christine did not let me down.   Finding out more of their history, both together and before they knew each other, only made me want their happy ever after more.  And I was not disappointed .
The last page of the story has left me craving the next book in the series.  The Charmed series in a set of books I most definitely will read over and over again.  I cannot wait until book 3 will be available.


Buy it!

I was given the honor of reading an ARC copy given to me by the author, Christine Wenrick.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Down at the Golden Coin by Kim Strickland

Reviewed by Charlotte

Annie, a furloughed airline pilot, goes down to the local run down laundry mat because her washer has broken.  Never did she dream she would meet Violet there or that her life would be turned around so drastically.  Violets levitates a bottle of TIDE, can read minds, and sends Annie into past lives. Violet turns out to be a Messiah for Annie.

Let me start by saying that I am not usually into reading self-help type stories, but I enjoyed Down at the Golden Coin.  There were some parts that I didn’t quite get.  A couple of the flashbacks didn’t do it for me, but by the time they were done and Violet was explaining her reasoning I went “Oh, I see it now.”  I did like the idea behind the flashbacks though.

With each chapter a different lesson was brought and taught.  Many times I found myself looking at my own life and seeing how I could take that lesson and apply it to what I have been feeling or going through.  One of my favorite lessons learned “Can’t let these things, which you consider negative, to dominate your thoughts.  Of course, you have to think about them.  You need to give them time and attention they deserve…..redirect your thoughts to something else.”

Whether you are looking for self help or not this book should be read by all.  It has lessons that every person regardless of where you are in your life you should learn and know.


Author Bio:

                                                

Kim Strickland lives in Chicago with her husband, three children, two cats and one dog. She also blogs as A City Mom at Chicago Now.Down at the Golden Coin is her second novel. When she 'snot being a mom or a writer, she flies jets for a major airline, which means, every once in a while, she gets to eat an entire meal sitting down.


Follow Kim Strickland

Buy a copy of DOWN AT THE GOLDEN COIN


FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, November 19, 2012

The Earl’s Outrageous Lover by Elizabeth Lennox


Reviewed by Charlotte


Jessica’s parents pass away and the wil states she must marry before she is twenty five years old, which is twelve months from the beginning of the story.  If she does not marry all of her father’s factories will be closed and destroyed leaving thousands of workers jobless.  With only weeks left before she turns twenty five, Jessica has yet to find that one special person.  She has had many offers and things she may just have to settle.

Charles has been “helping” Jessica meet all the right men with no success.  When he is unable to keep helping her turns her over to his nephew, Edward Livingston, to continue the help.  Edward takes her to all the right places and introduces her to all the right people.

As soon as Edward was put in charge of Jessica, I knew how this would end, but getting there was so entertaining.  Watching Edward circle around Jessica to keep her only meeting the right kind of men, while knowing that none of the men would be Mr. Right was so fun.  Jessica  and Edward both fourth their attraction and feelings for each other, but were extremely jealous and protective of one another.
I truly enjoyed this short and easy read and am awaiting the next book by Elizabeth Lennox.  If your looking for a quick and easy story check out the The Earl’s Outrageous Lover.



I received an ecopy of this book as part of a blog tour.


Sweetness by Lindsay Paige

Reviewed by Charlotte

Moving to the new town with her dad, Emily becomes invisible.  She does not make eye contact, speaking very softly or not at all, and keeping her headphones on to block everyone out.  When Jake, star of the hockey team, asks her to be his partner for a school project Emily starts coming out of her shell.    Jake helps Emily overcome her past and Emily helps Jake with his past.  Making their lives forever changed.

By looking only at the title and length of the book you may assumes it will be a quick and easy adult romance story.  Although it is a quick and easy read it is not your typical young adult boy meets girl and falls in love story.   The topics of the book are very serious.  Verbal abuse, parent abandonment and drug/alcohol abuse.

Emily and Jake are the main characters, both are young with troubled lives.  Fortunately, they find each other at pivotal points and manage to save each other.  It was absolutely heartwarming to see a popular boy go against the grain and be friends with the unpopular girl in school.

I loved how Emily’s dad played a huge part in Emily and Jake’s story.  His support of Emily and understanding and trust of Jake’s role in Emily’s recovery was amazing.  Not many dad’s that I know would be able to step back and let a young boyfriend be Emily’s anchor though the rough times.

This book is amazing.  Lindsay Paige is an author to keep an eye on.  I cannot wait to read the rest of this series.  If you are looking for a great Young Adult Romance, Sweetness is a perfect choice.


Sweetness by Lindsay Paige

Thursday, November 15, 2012

THE MERMAID COLLECTOR by Erika Marks + Giveaway

Reviewed by Laura Kay

 
Is there a better backdrop for a story than the ocean, beaches, lighthouses and mermaids? I think not!  Erika Marks brings to life a story of The Mermaid Mutiny of 1888 to life with Lydia and Linus Harris. Linus is the lighthouse keeper in Cradle Harbor, Maine in 1887. Together they are simply a young couple setting up a home and hoping to start a family. When an unfathomable event occurs---changes everything for this couple and the town. 

A century later, the legend of Lydia and Linus lives on and is celebrated with a Mermaid Festival. For Tess Patterson this is a magical time. Tess is a local artist who recently was commissioned to make a mermaid wood carved statue for the town.

Tess is looking for acceptance from the townspeople with their noses in the air. Whereas Tom Grace (new in town) isn't looking to please the community of Cradle Harbor. He just wants a fresh start for himself and younger brother, Dean. 

Tom and Tess make the perfect couple, but is their desire to change their pasts going to doom their future? 

I LOVED The Mermaid Collector! I had begun reading it the day before my dad passed away and finished it the week after his funeral. As I read the last few chapters, I couldn't put The Mermaid Collector down. Not only was this a fantastically written story, but Marks wrote with such truth. As I read at 3am in the morning tears fell. 

Erika Marks did an amazing job of weaving the two stories together. I was completely taken in with Lydia's story. You get tid bits along the way, so you get an idea of how it will end---yet as it draws to a close you want a different ending! I just couldn't accept that was how it was going to end.

As I read about Tess & Tom I just kept wanting them to let go of their past--knowing you hinder your future if you are always looking backwards.

The only thing that could have made this a better read was if I could have read it on a New England beach, with a hot tea, wearing a cable knit sweater with the background sound of waves crashing and the tingling sounds of wind chimes. 

An absolute perfect fall read! I highly recommend THE MERMAID COLLECTOR! 

Follow Erika Marks 
Buy THE MERMAID COLLECTOR by Erika Marks

Erika joined us a few weeks back for a Q&A make sure to check it out!


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Perfect Bait by Michael Fowlkes


Reviewed by Charlotte Lynn


Living on a charter boat “Vintage” seemed like the perfect life for Corey, Seattle born and raised, and Jennifer, devoted and gorgeous.  When the cook on another charter ship gets called away for a family emergency, Jennifer steps in to help.  However, this charter group  are not the usual group and trouble happens.  As Corey, his right-hand man, Travis, and Travis’ girlfriend, Jasmine, rush to find Jennifer they find so much more than they ever imagined.

This story went from a young man raised by his grandparents and marrying his childhood sweetheart, to cheating and betrayal, to finding the love we all dream of, to international kidnapping and never missed a step or slowed down.

Of course, I loved the main characters, Corey and Jennifer, but Travis and Jasmine were my favorite.  Travis being rough, tough, and young didn’t really believe in true love or that he could possibly be in love with Jasmine.   Jasmine with all her wisdom and patience let her thoughts and feelings be known but id not force Travis into anything.  Watching (ok reading, but I could picture it) the two of them find each other was amazing.  Michael Fowlkes could not have described it better.  Keeping it real, but showing so much attention to every detail.

The descriptions of the people and places Corey and Jennifer went to, whether by choice or not, made the book come alive in my mind.  It was almost like a movie was playing and I got to pick which actors played which parts.  The sex scenes were told so both a man or a woman could truly appreciate them.  Something I would think is very hard to do, consider men and women look at sex a little differently.
Perfect Bait is the type of book that has something for everyone.  Romance, sex, murder, intrigue, drama, and action.  I definitely recommend to all my friend to read this.

Buy the Book

FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

I was asked to read and review Perfect Bait as part of the BookSparks Public Relations.This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.






Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Diary of a Stage Mother’s Daughter by Melissa Francis and a Q&A


Reviewed by Charlotte

Melissa Francis, childhood star of Little House on the Prairie,  writes a book about her life growing up with a stage mother.  Having been an actress her whole life with her mom there every step made growing up anything but normal for Melissa.  Between missing school for auditions and her mother’s crazy mood swings her childhood was very emotional and challenging.

Not remembering Melissa Francis from Little House on the Prairie, I was not sure how much I would enjoy reading her story.  I was very happily surprised by how much of her story really was about her mother and older sister, Tiffany.  This was not a story only about Little House on the Prairie, this is a story about a mother who would only accept a perfect child and a picture perfect life and the kids that had to grow up with that mother.

Immediately I despised Melissa’s stage mother.  How could a mother ever treat her daughters as she had?  I do believe that she felt she was doing the absolute best for the girls, but nothing is further from the truth.  As a mother myself, I would hope my kids would never feel the fear and pity Melissa and Tiffany felt towards their mother.

I loved following Melissa through her childhood journey to adulthood.  My heart broke at her youth, getting put down and beat up one minute and the built up the next minute.  I find it amazing that she made it to adulthood and to a normal adulthood with a successful career.  It truly shows the strength Melissa has.

If you read this hoping for the inside scoop on Little House on the Prairie you will be disappointed.  If you read the looking for a heartwarming and sometimes sad story about a young girl breaking away from her sometimes cruel mother and becoming a successful journalist, mother, wife and woman you will love this story as much as I did.

Follow Melissa Francis

Buy Diary of a Stage Mother’s Daughter by Melissa Francis

As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


bonus Q & A with Melissa Francis…

When you were declared an adult by the courts, did it ever occur to you to actually break away from your mom and take control of you own career and money?

I was fifteen years old when I became an emancipated minor, so I wasn’t old enough to drive myself to school much less get an apartment or run my own life.  I also hadn’t entertained the possibility that I could really escape my mother’s control, ever.  I’d lived my whole life under her watch.  And as you read in the book, there were a lot of positives to her management:  I won roles, got straight A’s in school, and was spoiled with clothes and gifts.  It would be many years before I realized that even for me, the negative overwhelmed the positive.

While reading your story, I felt like your Dad should have stood up for you against your Mom. Did you ever have those feelings or a conversation with him on why he never did?

I love my Dad very much and we are still very close.  We email or talk every day.  I almost feel like we’ve been through a war together.  We are veterans of the same all-consuming disaster.  We’ve both emerged alive, but with scars.  When I look back at the darkest times, he was almost always at work when my mother was at her cruelest.  And Tiffany and I never appealed to him, because we knew we’d be alone with my mother again when he went back to work, and we’d pay dearly then.

In raising your own two children, will you discourage or encourage them to look into an acting career? If you encourage will you be their Stage Mother ?

Everyone asks me this question and I have to laugh because it takes a very cooperative child to be as successful as I was.  I wanted to please.  I was very obedient, and my boys don’t share that trait.  They are wild and wonderful, but they are boys in the truest sense of the word.  I don’t see them being patient enough to wait through an audition!

With all you went through with auditions and your childhood jobs, did you ever consider just giving up acting and heading towards a totally different career path?

Absolutely!  That’s why toward the end of the book you learn that I decided to go all the way to other side of the country to Harvard when I turned eighteen.  Stanford accepted me, and even though my parents pressured me to go there, I decided to move a plane ride away where I couldn’t go on auditions no matter how tempting.  I needed to decide if acting was really right for me.  I had lived a whole life and had a whole career by that time, I wanted a fresh start.  I fell in love in journalism, and I’ve been a writer, reporter and anchor ever since.  I host MONEY with Melissa Francis on Fox Business every night (5pm ET, check your local listings!).


Monday, November 12, 2012

The Paternity Test by Michael Lowenthal

reviewed by Charlotte


 
 Pat and Stu, a gay couple, decide they want a baby to complete their family.  Their relationship is in a rough spot right now and are hoping a baby will make their bond stronger.   With Stu flying across the country as a pilot and having hook-ups in each city he visits and Pat being faithful.  Yes, they have an open relationship. It is easy to understand why they are having problems.  But is a baby the answer?

As I started reading the Paternity Test, I thought wow this is pretty straight forward.  Two men want a baby to complete their family and have found the perfect surrogate to help them reach their goal.  Each month they go to the surrogates’ home and wait for her to be inseminated and then go home and wait for the call.   Always hoping for the best.  I thought there has to be little bumps in the road, things can’t go perfectly.  Never did I imagine the issues Pat and Stu would face. 

Michael Lowenthal pulls you in and makes you feel as if you are part of the story.  He writes the past and the future intertwining them perfectly.  The story flows easy and is easy to follow.  Even, if like me, you had no real knowledge or interest in the topic.

I was concerned at the relationship between Pat and the surrogate.  It seemed odd how close they became.  Especially since Stu is the donor father to their baby to be.  It was very interesting to read how their closeness caused the other relationships to be or to be changed. 

The Paternity Test shows how difficult it can be to become a parent in any circumstance.  It is truly thought provoking and very unique in the storyline and characters.  I enjoyed the book very much and highly recommend it. 

Follow Michael Lowenthal

Buy a copy of The Paternity Test by Michael Lowenthal


FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Friday, November 9, 2012

Wallflower in Bloom by Claire Cook


Reviewed by Charlotte

Deidre Griffin has a life many dream of, flying around the world being a personal assistant to her high maintenance New Age Guru Brother, Tag.  This role seems to make her the wallflower of the family.  Deidre decides to use Tag’s millions of online followers to get her a spot on Dancing with the Stars.  Maybe stepping in front of the camera will help her mentally and physically earning her 15 minutes of fame.

Wallflower in bloom is a perfect summer read, although I read it in the fall and it is still perfect.  Starting with the title, showing there is hope for a wallflower to come into her own.  Most of us either know or are a wallflower, someone who goes out but stays in the shadows.  I loved watching Deidre come out of the shadows and bloom into a self ensured, non-pushover woman.

The “chiasmus” at the beginning of each chapter were great.  They gave a little insight into what was coming in the chapter and often made me smile and nod my head.  If you don’t know what a “chiasmus” is you definitely will by the end of the book.

I loved that this was a story of family and that even when someone seemingly changes the game plan they still come together and support each other wanting each other to succeed.

Whether a Dancing with the Stars fan or not everyone will love this book.  Claire Cook’s great sense of humor shines through.  If you have a family that sometimes drives you crazy you will definitely relate.
Actually, anyone who is looking to read a great chic-lit book will love Wallflower in Bloom.

Follow Claire Cook

Buy Wallflower in Bloom by Claire Cook





This book is part of the Shereads.org network and I was asked to read and review for them. 

Thursday, November 8, 2012

The Color of Grace by Linda Kage

reviewed by Charlotte

Grace’s dad dies when she is young leaving just her and her mom.  At age 16, Grace’s mom remarries and they move to a new town and a new high school.  The day before the move Grace’s old school is playing the new school in basketball and she meets Ryder.

Ryder is a popular basketball player from her new school.  He took and immediate interest in Grace, even as she did everything possible to be “not interested.”  Even though Ryder has a cheerleader girlfriend and Grace ends up dating Ryder’s best friend, they are still drawn to each other while trying to respect each other’s relationships.

I loved this book!  At age 16, I moved to a different state with my family.  Grace’s feelings mirrored so many of what I felt.  Her fear of a new school, new friends, and a new house were so real.  I could definitely relate to her.  Linda Kage caught all those teenage fears exactly as they are felt.

The color symbolism is one of my favorite things in this book.  I loved how each chapter started with a different color and how that color related to Grace’s life.  Starting each chapter this was gave me an extra insight to Grace’s thoughts and feelings.

Ryder was my hero.  When I moved I had my own Ryder.  That person who takes you under their wings and helps you adjust.  It was great that the relationship turned into romance.  The fact that Ryder is cute, funny, and kind just adds to his charm.

Where I would usually enjoy the adult parts of the story, for this book I enjoyed the teen storylines more.  I do feel this book is more of a Young Adult selection, but I totally loved everything about The Colors of Grace.

Follow Linda Kage

Buy THE COLOR OF GRACE
Amazon | Barnes & Noble


FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Sand Dollar A Story of Undying Love by Sebastian Cole


Reviewed by Charlotte

Noah Hartman meets his soul mate, Robin at a local club.  When he loses her, he does not ever give up on their love, truly believing they belong together.  Finally, Noah agrees to marry Sarah, a long time family friend.  As Sarah is ready to walk down the aisle, Robin walks in and declares her love for Noah.

An old and sick Noah tells his love story to Josh, an orderly at Mount Sinai Hospital.  As the story is told different family members arrive to tell him goodbye.  The closer to the end of the story, the more the pieces of his life are put back together.

When I was told that this was the next great love story I was cynical, but it is totally true.  Noah and Robin’s story is the greatest love story I have ever read.

Robin was a character I didn’t really like.  The way she played with the good guy, Noah, broke my heart.  The fact that she had a child from a previous relationship and kept uprooting her life made her the type of mother that I never understand or can relate to.  I did like that she encouraged Noah to break free from the unreal hold his parents had on him letting him finally live his life his way.  But this was really the only good thing I can say about Robin.

Noah was the prince of the story.  Willing and wanting to worship Robin and put her on a pedestal giving her everything a woman could want.  Every girls dream man.  The fact that he allowed his parents to rule so many of his decisions and life was his biggest downfall.  The control went beyond being a momma’s boy and was definitely the cause of most of his issues with Robin.  Noah instantly won my heart when he included Robin’s daughter in many of their plans making her feel like part of the “family” he was trying to form.

I highly recommend Sand Dollar to everyone.  This is a story that will touch you to the depth of your heart.

Sebastian Cole

Buy Sand Dollar  A Story of Undying Love by Sebastian Cole



I received  a copy of this book from the author , Sebastian Cole.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

A State of Jane by Meredith Schorr


Reviewed by Charlotte

Jane breaks up with her steady boyfriend of nine years.  After taking a year long break from dating and sex she decides to find the man of her dreams.  Jane’s adventures through dating start with online dating then head to making face to face contact.  When Jane takes her co-worker, Andrew’s, advice towards dating the story takes off.

I never went to the extremes of antics Jane did to find Mr. Right and really thought Jane took it too far.  “Nail ‘Em and Leave ‘Em” is a very selfish slutty motto and not accepted in my life.  I found Jane to be self-centered and a horrible friend and family member.  Most of the book I was very frustrated with Jane.

As the story went on I saw how Jane had to go through this dating journey to end up where she did.  By the end of the story, I was more accepting of her and happy with the way she made amends with her friends and family and how she became more true to herself.  I also loved how her friends and family forgave her and things moved on as if they were never wronged.   I found the ending to be perfect.

I would definitely categorize this as chic-lit and any chic-lit fan should enjoy this book. Whether you are happily in a relationship or looking for that perfect match you will enjoy the antics that Jane goes through to find her happy ending.  Just take a chance on the book and you will not be sorry.


Follow Meredith Schorr

Buy A State of Jane by Meredith Schorr

As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, November 5, 2012

The Charmed by Christine Wenrick

reviewed by Charlotte

Olivia and Sarah are best friends taking a commuter train back to the city where they attend college.  A coven of vampires attach the train causing it to crash.  Everyone on the train dies as a result of the accident or feeding vampires, except Olivia.  Olivia is saved by Caleb, a person from her past, who doesn’t understand the strong feeling to do anything possible to keep Olivia safe.

Olivia recognizes Caleb with a single touch.  Soon they are in love and unusually in tune with each other.  As the feelings get stronger and they spend more time together Olivia starts to notice startling changes in herself.  When she finds out the reason behind these changes she worries she will have to give Caleb up.

As the first book in a trilogy and the first book I have read from Christine Wenrick I was unsure what to expect.  Was this going to be a mushy girl and vampire fall in love or a gross blood sucking everyone dies story?  I am happy to say it had a little bit of everything and I loved it.

Calebs coven, which included Jax and Gemma, is a coven of daywalkers who really just want to blend in and fit with regular people when they have to.  Isaac’s coven, which is a lot larger, bites people and kills them.  They are not wanting to live in the real work and just take what they want, when they want it.
Then there is Caleb and Olivia’s story.  OOO LALA!  The love they share is unreal.  So deep and true.  The scene at the piano, OH MY GOSH, it made me blush and I loved every minute of it.  The rest of Caleb’s coven, Gemma and Jax, equally interest me.  The notes, a.k.a  not poems, that Gemma writes and Jax collects  make my heart pitter patter.  I hope there is more to both stories to be told in Book 2 and Book 3 of this series.

The Charmed is a great story with amazing characters that entertain me from beginning to end.  Everyone should just read it, you won’t be sorry.

Follow Christine Wenrick on Twitter

Buy THE CHARMED
Amazon 
The Charmed is also available at Barnes & Noble and the iBookstore



FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Friday, November 2, 2012

Saving Each Other A Mystery Illness, A Search for a Cure, A Mother Daughter Love Story By Victoria Jackson and Ali Guthy + Giveaway




Book Description:


On the surface, Victoria Jackson is the American Dream personified: from a troubled childhood and unfinished high school education she overcame immeasurable odds to create a cosmetics empire valued at more than half a billion dollars. Married to Bill Guthy -- self- made principal of infomercial marketing giant Guthy-Renker -- Victoria's most treasured role was mother to three beautiful, beloved children, Evan, Ali, and Jackson.

Suddenly, Victoria's dream life is broken as she begins to battle a mother's greatest fear.

In 2008, her daughter, Ali, began experiencing unusual symptoms of blurred vision and an ache in her eye. Her test results led to the diagnosis of a disease so rare, the chance that she had it was only 2%. Neuromyeltis Optica (NMO) is a little understood, incurable, and often fatal autoimmune disease that can cause blindness, paralysis, and life-threatening seizures, and afflicts as few as 20,000 people in the world. At the age of 14, Ali was given a terrifying prognosis of between four to six years to live.

Saving Each Other: A Mother-Daughter Love Story begins just as Victoria and Bill learn of Ali's disease, starting them on a powerful journey to save Ali, their only daughter, including bringing together a team of more than fifty of the world's leading experts in autoimmune and NMO-related diseases to create the Guthy-Jackson Charitable Foundation.

Told in alternating viewpoints, Victoria and Ali narrate their very different journeys of coming to terms with the lack of control that neither mother nor daughter have over NMO, and their pioneering efforts and courage to take their fight to a global level.

Bringing their story to light with raw emotion, humor, warmth, and refreshing candor, Saving Each Other is the extraordinary journey of a mother and daughter who demonstrate how the power of love can transcend our greatest fears, while at the same time battling to find a cure for the incurable.


Reviews for Saving Each Other A Mystery Illness, A Search for a Cure, A Mother Daughter Love Story

"Sometimes we're given a physical or spiritual challenge that we have no idea how we're going to rise to. In this riveting account of a mother-daughter love story and their urgent search for a cure, we're made aware of the power that dwells inside utter necessity. By the end of this book, you'll laugh, cry, rage, and rejoice . . . and you'll feel that lovely connection to life that you only get when you pass through your dark night of the soul."
-- Kathy Freston, New York Times bestselling author of Quantum Wellness and The Lean

"Any parent or child will be moved and inspired by this story of how love and dedication can conquer pain and fear; a vivid reminder that there is nothing more powerful or enduring than the bond of mother and daughter."
-- New York Times bestselling author Rob Lowe

"This is a spectacular and gripping story of personal courage and entrepreneurial creativity, involving a mother and daughter. It is a story of medical researchers and disease detectives working hard to cure a young woman's frightening disease. The saga is ongoing, exciting and full of drama and hope."
-- Larry Steinman MD, Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics Stanford University and Chairman of Immunology 2002-2011

"I once said that life is found in the dance between your deepest desire and your greatest fear. Saving Each Other is about a pathway where two women face their greatest fears and experience their deepest desires together as they take on an incurable disease. It's quickly obvious this disease is no match for the powerful combination of a mother's love and devotion with a child's hope, determination and will. You will be moved and inspired as you go on a journey with these two extraordinary women and find newfound courage within yourself."
-- Anthony Robbins, New York Times bestselling author, internationally-acclaimed speaker, and peak performance expert

"Saving Each Other is a love story, a medical mystery, and also the proof we badly need that cooperation beats competition every time. This is an irresistible book that inspires readers -- and could reform experts."
-- Gloria Steinem

"I've made a career telling inspirational women's stories. This real life story is a triumph. Saving Each Other is about a mother and daughter bonding over love, maturity and survival. Victoria and Ali, two people I've admired for years, have written an incredibly moving and important story that must be shared."
-- Garry Marshall

"The unstoppable power of these two extraordinary women is an unforgettable and inspirational experience you will carry in your heart forever."
-- Dustin Hoffman

"As a woman, mother, and close friend of the authors, I find this story deeply moving on so many levels. The work that I've seen Victoria, Ali, and the foundation undertake has been extraordinary, especially in bringing doctors together to share ideas and create a dialogue that wasn't there before. As their experts grow closer to finding better, more effective treatments for this disease, they can open the door for solutions to many other diseases -- and that's just incredible!"
-- Reese Witherspoon

"Saving Each Other is a testament to a mother's incredible strength and a daughter's unshakable courage. However, it is so much more than that. The Guthy/Jackson family's journey in fighting Ali's disease -- and their refusal to give up -- is beyond inspirational; it is truly one of the greatest love stories I've ever read. This wonderful book will make you laugh and cry. But most of all, you will cheer for this amazing family's unfailing tenacity and hope in the face of enormous obstacles and fear. Their fight will ultimately help save countless other lives."
-- Sherry Lansing, CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

I'm very excited to share this very special memoir. I have one copy to giveaway to someone with a US address. I also want to let everyone know  100 percent of all proceeds from this book directly support scientific and clinical research for NMO.
Authors Bios:

Having achieved success as a Hollywood makeup artist, cosmetics entrepreneur and television infomercial pioneer, Victoria Jackson prefers to think of herself as "a goodwill ambassador for makeup."

A recognized trailblazer in the infomercial industry, Jackson altered a global beauty aesthetic with her "no makeup makeup" -- a foundation that was the cornerstone of her eponymous line Victoria Jackson Cosmetics, which has enjoyed over a half billion dollars in sales, and continues to grow.

Jackson has also garnered a devoted following through her two briskly selling books: Redefining Beauty: Discovering Your Individual Beauty, Enhancing Your Self-Esteem and Make Up Your Life: Every Woman's Guide to the Power of Makeup, a deeply personal account of her experiences in business.

Today, Victoria's primary focus is the Guthy-Jackson Charitable Foundation, which is dedicated to funding biomedical research in the search to understand the pathophysiology and biochemistry of Neuromyeltis Optica (NMO) Spectrum Disease. It is her greatest hope that "together we will reverse the effects of NMO and eventually cure this disease."

Married to husband Bill Guthy of infomercial giant Guthy-Renker, Victoria Jackson is the mother of three children and together they reside in Los Angeles.

Ali Guthy, a student at the University of California, Santa Barbara, has kept a journal since she was a young girl. At The Buckley School in Los Angeles, she served as co-editor-in-chief for her high school's award-winning newspaper, The Student Voice. She is also the managing editor of The Spectrum, the newsletter she created with the Guthy-Jackson Charitable Foundation. While at Buckley, she had record-setting achievements on the tennis court, finishing with an overall winning record of 165-22. Ali also received Buckley's coveted Head of School Award -- given to a student who demonstrated leadership, academic achievement, character, and service on behalf of the school and community. Ali has also been honored with numerous awards and in the media for giving a public face to NMO and for her leadership in reaching out to newly diagnosed patients and their families.

For more information please visit http://www.guthyjacksonfoundation.org and http://www.vanguardpressbooks.com, and follow the author on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.


Thursday, November 1, 2012

The Headmaster's Wager by Vincent Lam + Giveaway

Reviewed by Laura


From Giller Prize winner, internationally acclaimed, and bestselling author Vincent Lam comes a superbly crafted, highly suspenseful, and deeply affecting novel set against the turmoil of the Vietnam War.

Percival Chen is the headmaster of the most respected English school in Saigon. He is also a bon vivant, a compulsive gambler and an incorrigible womanizer. He is well accustomed to bribing a forever-changing list of government officials in order to maintain the elite status of the Chen Academy. He is fiercely proud of his Chinese heritage, and quick to spot the business opportunities rife in a divided country. He devotedly ignores all news of the fighting that swirls around him, choosing instead to read the faces of his opponents at high-stakes mahjong tables. But when his only son gets in trouble with the Vietnamese authorities, Percival faces the limits of his connections and wealth and is forced to send him away. In the loneliness that follows, Percival finds solace in Jacqueline, a beautiful woman of mixed French and Vietnamese heritage, and Laing Jai, a son born to them on the eve of the Tet offensive. Percival's new-found happiness is precarious, and as the complexities of war encroach further and further into his world, he must confront the tragedy of all he has refused to see.

Blessed with intriguingly flawed characters moving through a richly drawn historical and physical landscape, The Headmaster's Wager is a riveting story of love, betrayal and sacrifice. (Taken from Goodreads). 

The Headmaster's Wager by Vincent Lam is not a typical book I would read, but a perfect example of why I started my blog-- to read books I might not otherwise pick up.

A story of a Headmaster at an English school in Vietnam  Percival Chen (Chen Pie Sou) who is all about making a profit, gambling, spending time with prostitutes  and making sure his son, Dai Jai marries a Chinese woman. His money and his position and very good teacher/friend Mak help him to influence those around him. He speaks of his love for China and yet never returns. When his son gets in trouble, Percival spends almost everything he has to protect him. He soon learns there is limitations to what he can actually do.

After his son is sent away, Percival falls for Jacqueline. He opens up to her about everything and seems to have found a love he'd never known before. But, she is mixed and he will not marry any woman who is not Chinese.  Over the years, the climate around Vietnam and China change and yet Percival seems to keep his head in the sand never really admitting to what is going on. His refusal to open his eyes puts those around him at risk.

The more I read this book, the more I was taken in by this book. I did struggle with my feelings about Percival--his constant avoidance to what was going on in the world frustrated me. He seemed very well to do and could have really taken care of those around him, but he sat on his hands time and time again. This was frustrating because you knew he really loved and wanted to take care of his loved ones. As the novel approached the end it seemed as if he finally was opening his eyes. And in truthfulness I was rooting for him the entire time.

Of all the characters, I like Jacqueline the most. She loved Percival and really didn't pressure him, but tried to get him to see things. I wanted Percival to do right by her. I felt like all the females in the story were very strong.

There were a few big twists in the story, one I knew was coming but wasn't sure exactly. I will say it did surprise me. The other big surprise--wow! Totally didn't see it coming! The further I read the more difficult it was to put down. After reading, The Headmaster's I realized how very little I know about the history of China, Hong Kong and Vietnam.

Like I stated earlier, this is not the typical genre I read. This is an intense novel, beautifully written and I highly recommend The Headmaster's Wager.

GIVEAWAY

I am able to give a copy of The Headmaster's Wager away to one person with a US/Canada mailing address. Just leave me a comment telling me one book you've really enjoyed outside the "typical" genre you read. Don't forget to leave me your email address! The giveaway will close November 8th at midnight EST. Once I email the winner they will have 48 hours to email me their mailing address or I will pick a new winner. Good luck!


Vincent Lam

Buy The Headmaster's Wager by Vincent Lam


This Book was sent to me from TLC Book Tours in exchange for a honest review. 

Dr. Vincent Lam’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, September 10th:  The Bowed Bookshelf
Monday, September 17th:  Book Chase
Wednesday, September 19th:  Bibliophiliac
Monday, September 24th:  My Bookshelf
Wednesday, September 26th:  Lit and Life
Monday, October 1st:  BookNAround
Thursday, October 4th:  Mom in Love with Fiction
Monday, October 8th:  Paperback Princess
Wednesday, October 10th:  Susan’s Literary Cafe
Wednesday, October 10th:  Unabridged Chick
Monday, October 15th:  A Book Geek
Thursday, October 18th:  Bookish Habits
Monday, October 22nd:  Girls Just Reading
Thursday, November 1st:  A Novel Review

FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.