Thursday, January 31, 2013

The Guestbook by Andrea Hurst


Review by Charlotte Lynn






Lily Parkins finds out her hubby is cheating on her.  She decided enough is enough and moved to the Pacific Northwest.  Lily’s grandmother has left her the old family farmhouse which happens to be the only place she has ever been truly happy.  Lily knows she has decisions to make.  Is the farm, which her grandma convert to a Bed & Breakfast where she wants to stay?  Should she return to her husband, forgiving his cheating and overbearing ways?  Should she open her heart to new love?

Lily’s grandma left her the guestbook from all the years running the Bed & Breakfast.  Inside this book is letters, recipes, and parts of Lily’s history.  All of the information helps Lily get her independence and remake herself.  Between her wonderful new friends, her mother, and Ian, the handsome neighbor, Lily is determined to be successful and happy.

When the email arrived asking me to read The Guestbook telling me it was like Nicholas Sparks, Nora Roberts, and Debbie Macomber wrapped in one I was thrilled by wary.  Those are big names to live up to.  But she was right on.  I saw the romance, the charm, and the heart just as promised.

The Guestbook is a story of friendship, love, family, and finding one self.  The friendships Lily made let her trust again.  I loved the small town feel of everyone knowing everyone and helping without being asked or being paid.  If more towns were like this the world would be a much better, much happier place.  The love that not only Lily found but also that was hinted at foe her best friends Jude and Kyla, made me unable to put the book down.  It is a love story, not a story of sex and lust, although there was some of that in there also.  Family…Lily realizing what she lost by staying with her loser husband.  I loved how she worked through the time she didn’t and should have spent with her grandma.  How she pushed her mom away, but when she needed her mom, she was there.  All of these helped Lily redefine herself and find true happiness.

I cannot believe this is Andrea Hurst’s debut novel.  The next one cannot come soon enough.  The Guestbook is perfect to cuddle up with a glass of cocoa next to a roaring fire and lose yourself in

Purchase The Guestbook by Andrea Hurst

Follow Andrea Hurst
Twitter   |   Blog


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Firefly Hollow by T.L. Haddix

Review by Charlotte


Sarah Browning has trespassed on her neighbors, The Campbells, land for many years while never meeting them.  After going away to college and then getting called back home when her father is dying, she finally meets Owen Campbell and the attraction is instant. Sarah has felt like the odd sister.  Not popular or pretty she has not had a real boyfriend and is not confident that she ever will.   Owen has many secrets and a past that could hinder their relationship.  He is somewhat of a recluse.  He believes that he will never fall in love and that he doesn’t deserve to fall in love.

By the end of the first chapter I was caught in the web T.L. Haddix was weaving.  I felt like I was right with Sarah and Own on their journey.  I had butterflies, anxiety, and anger along with Sarah.  Owen is the attentive, loving, thoughtful boyfriend everyone dreams of.   He also won me over by never giving up on Sarah and admitting his mistakes.  He also lets her into his inner sanctum, telling Sarah the deepest darkest secrets that he never dreamed he would share with anyone else.   The love there two shared was truly on the soul mate level.

I enjoyed that this was not just boy meets girl and falls in love story.  There is a few smaller storylines that I enjoyed just as much as the main storyline.  Kathy, Sarah’s sister, and Randall, her husband, story broke my heart.  Seeing how Kathy and Sarah fought like sisters, but were there to stand by each other in their tough times was how sisters should be and I love it.  When the going got tough for either sister the family pulled together and gave 100% support made me envious of her life.   Jack and Gilly’s love story was great.  Seeing two people so in love warmed my heart.  Seeing how Gilly waited for Jack to return and once he did never doubted his love and devotion.

Firefly Hollow is a novel that is impossible to put down.  I definitely recommend this to everyone. 

Buy Firefly Hollow by T.L.Haddix

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.




Monday, January 28, 2013

Big Bad Bite by Jessie Lane


Reviewed by Charlotte




Jenna O’Connor has been extremely sheltered her whole life to keep what she is a secret from “others.”  She is not human nor is she a normal supernatural “other.”  When she gets her dream job in another town, becoming a SWAT team member of the Wilmington Police Department, she jumps at the chance to get away from her own small town and those that have kept her secrets.

First day on the job she runs into Adam McPhee.  Adam is a wolf in human form and is incredibly intrigued with Jenna.  He is obsessive over her.  Needing to know who she is and what she is, but also wanting to have her, to keep her all to himself.  While trying to come to terms with Adam and his pack, she learns a lot about the world that she truly belongs in and has been hidden from for so long. 

Jessie Lane is amazing.  I already loved reading paranormal stories, but this just heightened my love.  Every character in this book was perfectly written.  No matter who was in the scene I could feel myself becoming them and getting sucked right in.  The plot was enrapturing.  From the very first page this is a book you cannot put down.  The descriptions of the surroundings, the houses, and the characters made the story play out in real time with real pictures in my head.  At no time did I feel like I had to put the book down and take a break.  I had to keep reading. 

Jenna and Adams budding, quickly moving relationship was hot, heavy, loving, and romantic.  Seeing Adam care so much that he held back on his wolf tendencies, which is very hard to do, just to keep Jenna comfortable, made him my hero.  He did not go about mating as a wolf, but as a human.  Then to finally see Jenna understand, for the wolf ways to click for her.  And her to go to Adam as a mate was definitely my favorite part of the book.

I also loved Uncle Owen, who Jenna had not seen in years, and become kind of her father figure.  Showing her the ways of the “other” world and making sure Adam’s intentions were honest.  Logan, the little brother she never knew she had, cracked me up.  His outrageous sex drive, his endless teasing of Jenna, and his over protectiveness made him all too real of a little brother.

Once again Jessie Lane got me, hook, line, and sinker.  Absolutely everything about this book was perfect.  I could not put it down and very anxiously await the next book in this series.  Anyone who enjoys paranormal stories will have to read this.  Extremely highly recommend Big Bad Bite to everyone.

Special thanks to Jessie Lane for the ARC copy of this novel for me to review.

Purchase Big Bad Bite by Jessie Lane

Follow Jessie Lane
Facebook   |   Blog





The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced

Friday, January 25, 2013

The History of Us by Leah Stewart

Reviewed by Laura Kay



Teaching at Harvard is a dream come true for Eloise Hempel, but then she gets a life changing phone call. Her dream life ends, as she takes guardianship of his sister's three children.

Fast forward, as her youngest niece, Claire is about to leave home to pursue her ballet career in New York. Eloise believes now she will able to pursue 'her' life. But Theo and Josh, the two oldest adult children, don't want to move out or move on. They are both stuck. As Eloise is about to throw them out, her mother decides to set up a competition between all of them to see who gets the house.

Eloise has a secret relationship and waiting to pursue her dreams, Theo is dragging her feet to look for a grown-up life and having puppy love for one of Eloise's colleges, Josh is running from his successful music career, and Claire is hiding the most! With all the secrets coming to light everything begins to unravel.

This novel really hit home for me. I got Theo on a number of different levels and issues. It was like no one got how she was still dealing with the loss of her parents all these years later. Eloise is in such a hurry for Theo to leave Cincinnati didn't seem to realize what the home, what the city meant to Theo. It's where her parents left her. In some way I related and understood each character and their motivations. None of them are perfect, none of them are totally likable or not likable. They are a family with all their issues. Not just current issues, but those ones we take with us from our childhood and seem to carry with us into our adulthood. A very character driven story!

I was sad when the book ended. I wanted to keep turning pages and follow them. I wanted to see what was next for each of them. The History of Us is a story of a family and I very much recommend reading it.

Follow Leah Stewart


Buy  a copy of The History of Us by Leah Stewart


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

The History of Us by Leah Stewart


Review by Charlotte Lynn



On the way to teach her Harvard class, Eloise Hempel finds out that her sister and her husband have been killed in a tragic accident.  Eloise’s sister has left her as guardian of her three young children.  This causes her to return to Cincinnati to raise Theo, Josh, and Claire.  She moves into her mother’s house.  Her mother leaves, and Eloise goes about the raising and the upkeep of an ancient house.

Now that the youngest, Claire, has moved out and onto her ballet career in New York, Eloise decides it is time to move on and sell the house.  But her mother and the children make this very difficult for Eloise.
Every character is dealing with an issue.  Josh the quitting of a successful band and his ex-girlfriend.  Theo really wants the house and has a crush on an already taken guy.  Eloise wants to live her own life.

I really felt like I was just reading a story.  At no point did I get sucked in and feel as if I was part of the story.  The potential was there and there were times that I felt close.  It seemed to be superficial, immature, and unfortunately lacking a great plot.

I will say I did like Heather, Eloise’s “friend.”  She seemed to understand that Eloise needed to be forced to make changes and how the changes would work in their relationship.

Overall, I cannot recommend this book, but have heard great things about Leah Stewart’s previous book and look forward to reading it. 

Purchase The History of Us by Leah Stewart

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Skating on Edge by Joelle Charbonnea

Reviewed by Charlotte






Rebecca Robbins is the owner of the Toe Stop roller-rink where a tough roller derby team practices.  One of the roller derby girls is murdered when she takes Rebecca’s turn in the dunk tank at the Native American Summer Days.  Rebecca knows she must solve this murder before someone actually manages to kill her.
Skating on Edge is the third of the Rebecca Robbins Mysteries.  I did not read the first two, but was easily able to follow this one and enjoy it.  The characters were quirky and fun and made me laugh many times.  The plot was fun and easy to read.  Being from a small town myself, I could relate to the everyone knows everyone and the gossiping for information.

I loved following Rebecca as she questioned suspects, followed clues, and finally managed to solve the murder.  She did most of this with the towns law enforcement a couple steps behind her.  There were times I thought I knew who dunit, but then something else would happen to make me doubt myself.  By the end I was pretty sure that I knew who the murder was and loved how it all played out. 

This book is fast and easy and will keep you laughing throughout.  I recommend this book and will be reading the rest of the series.

Buy Skating on Edge by Joelle Charbonnea
Barnes and Noble   |   Amazon   |   Goodreads

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, January 21, 2013

To Iraq and Back by Jessica Scott


Reviewed by Charlotte Lynn




To Iraq and Back is a story of Second Lieutenant Jessica Scott as she is getting ready to be deployed to Iraq and her deployment to Iraq.  It is a story of a mother, a writer, and a Lieutenant as she struggles through leaving her children, keeping up with her books and blog, and learning how to be a leader.

I learned so much from Jessica’s writing.  A sneak peak into what goes into being in the military and all that one has to give up and let go of.  The grief of leaving her children even with the knowledge that her children will be in the capable hands of their grandmother.  The anxiety of leading her fellow military mates during such a trying and scary time.  Jessica managed to share all of this and not portray herself as not being perfect or above anyone else.  She kept the story true to herself and her feelings.

The awe I felt for Jessica Scott humbled me.  I take so much for granted in my life.  Such as my kids, my freedom, the ability to go and do what I want whenever the mood strikes, and of course reading Jessica’s other novels for fun.  All I can say is Thank You.  Thank You for your service.  Thank You for my freedom.  Thank You for sharing your story.

Everyone who enjoys their freedom and life should read To Iraq and Back.  It is eye opening and inspiring.  I fell very honored that I was asked to read and share this story. 

Buy To Iraq and Back by Jessica Scott

Follow Jessica Scott
You Tube   |   Blog    |   Twitter

Sunday, January 20, 2013

Real Wifey's Hustle Hard by Meesha Mink


Review by Charlotte Lynn


“Suga”, Sophie Alvarez’s world is about to take a severe turn.  She is the wifey of loan shark Dane.  All she wants is for Dane to go legit so they can marry and start a family.  When the house is raided, Suga has to make some tough decisions.  Her life gets even crazier when she tries to run Dane’s business.

Suga also learns some information about her father and his past that changes her perception of her father and her relationships with friends of her past.

Not having read the first two books in this series, I did not know the background of Suga and Dane.  But I was easily able to follow along and enjoy Real Wifey’s Hustle Hard.  Once I got past the profanity and an understanding of the “street talk” I was hooked.

I enjoyed Sophie.  She stayed strong to who she is not giving in to marry Dane until he goes legal and also not letting her education go to waste and go for the “easy life”.   Sophie also showed her smarts, not just book smarts but street smarts.  When she has to be self-sufficient she proved she could.  She was also loyal.  Loyal to those who were loyal to her, a friend you could count on.  She will also call you out if she doesn’t believe in what they are doing.

There was a lot of profanity, which does nothing for me, but it was necessary due to the settings of the book.  The sex was rather graphic and sometimes did not add much to the plot, but again I understand some of it was necessary due to the settings.

I did enjoy the book, but probably will not read the first two in this series.  If profanity and sex does not bother you, the you will enjoy Real Wifey’s Hustle Hard.  This is definitely not a book for everyone, but it does have great characters and a catching plot, some will truly enjoy it. 

Purchase Real Wifey's Hustle Hard by Meesha Mink

Follow Meesha Mink
Goodreads   |   Blog

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Friday, January 18, 2013

The Song Remains the Same by Allison Winn Scotch

Reviewed by Laura Kay


Nell Slattery wakes up in a hospital room with strangers all around her, she doesn't know anyone in the room --she doesn't remember who she is!

Nell is one of only two people who survived a terrible plane crash. Even though she remembers nothing of the accident or anything before, she feels there must be a reason why she survived. Nell looks to her family for answers, but as they tell her information about her life...things don't sit well with her. It's as if she knows instinctively what is and is not true.

After seeing a photo of herself on People, Nell is determined to be a new more fabulous Nell Slattery! Nell fills up on pop culture over the years from music to TV and movies (thanks to her sister for putting together a playlist) and heads back home to New York. But hey her life and apartment are not reminiscent of Friends! Where is her cool apartment and the awesome coffee shop to hang out in?

Nell begins uncovering more and more untruths she has been fed by her family. She begins to question everything around her, and realizing she isn't becoming a new fabulous self. Her true personality comes through as she begins a quest in finding out just who is, Nell Slattery.

I'll be honest and say the beginning of the novel was so so for me, but the storyline had me interested. I never really connected with Nell. And her family? Ugh. But I was interested in what she would learn. Nell kind of went off on a hunt to find out more about her father and less about herself. I was like what the heck is she doing the her therapist called her out on it and I was like oh good it wasn't just me. 

The story really hit its stride after that. I began to appreciate who Nell is and why she is the way she is. It was an adventure in really finding out who she was by what she had been through...what made her who she is.

Definitely one of those books I wasn't really ready to say goodbye to and wanting me to makes me want to read more by Allison Winn Scotch. Quick mention: Best inner dialog I've read in a book in awhile...just seemed genuine to me!

I am recommending THE SONG REMAINS THE SAME!


Follow Allison Winn Scotch

Buy a copy of The Song Remains the Same by Allison Winn Scotch

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Never Alone by Linn B. Halton


Reviewed by Charlotte

Holly has a great life.  She has a gorgeous long term boyfriend, Will, who is making it big in the IT world and taking her with him.  She has a great job with her Dad’s company.  But something is just not quite right.
Holly begins having strange psychic sensations, which runs in her family.  As she struggles with her “gift”, her life is turned upside down.  When a medium, Peter, lets her know that she is OK and that she is protected by her grandma and best friend’s deceased brother, Nick, she feels at peace.  As she starts confiding in Nick, her path in life seems to change.

Did I like this book?  Most of the time I did.  There were some parts that seemed slow, almost boring, but overall I enjoyed the story.

I cannot imagine living in Holly’s shoes.  The paranormal, mediums, psychics are all things I doubt, but love to read about.   I loved how Holly and her Dad shared the same type of “gift”, but wish Linn had elaborated more on the similarities or differences.  .  It was good to see Holly grow and believe in herself, not letting her psychic powers hold her back.

Will won me over in the beginning by believing and wanting to stand by Holly and get her the help she needed to understand what was going on in her life.  By the end of the story I felt Will was too wrapped up in himself and his world and really let Holly down. 

If you enjoy ghosts, orbs, odd sensations, check out Never Alone.  Either way this is a good novel that I would recommend. 

Buy Never Alone by Linn B. Halton

Follow Linn B. Halton 
Twitter   |   Facebook

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced



Tuesday, January 15, 2013

A Girl Like You by Maria Geraci


Reviewed by Charlotte



Emma Frazier works for Florida!, a lifestyle magazine.  She has a crush on her boss, Ben Gallagher.  When she is out at a local bar someone refers to her as the “ugly friend.”  At that point she decides she can impress her boss and co-workers by getting the interview of a life time with Nascar driver, Trip Monroe.
The only problem is Trip does not do interviews.  Emma hopes she can lay the we went to school together card and get the coveted interview.  Starting by going back to their hometown, Catfish Cove, where she learns of secrets and meets another classmate and a romance starts.  Will Emma get her interview?  Can she overcome the “ugly friend” comment?

A Girl Like You is witty and fun.  From the very beginning I was sucked right in and read the whole book in almost one sitting.  I really liked that Emma referred to her moms throughout the book and it was dealt with, but not made a HUGE deal.  Usually I don’t enjoy the first person point of view, liking to know all the characters in the story, but this time it was great.   Emma told her story and kept it all real.

Emma is so lovable.  She is real.  She is a normal size, with normal friends, and normal insecurities.  Her crush on her boss, who leads her on without starting a relationship, makes me chuckle.  I feel like Emma truly knows herself.  She knows deep down that she is not that “ugly friend”, but sometimes hearing it you just have to work through it.   As she works through it she discovers more and more about herself and makes herself stronger  and more self esteemed. 

I kept thinking I knew how this would end, but was very pleasantly surprised with how the story actually ended.  If you are looking for an easy fun read check this out.  

Buy A Girl Like You by Maria Geraci
Goodreads   |   Barnes and Noble   |   Amazon

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Monday, January 14, 2013

Construct a Couple by Talli Roland


Reviewed by Charlotte

Serenity is happy with her life.  Jeremy and Serenity have been a couple for over a year.   Serenity has a new job, fact checking for a popular newspaper.  While working hard not to make waves in her relationship or job she realizes that by not making waves she could lose what is important to her.

I did not read the first book, Build a Man, in the series but I loved and easily caught onto what was going on in this, the second, book.    I will be going back and reading the first book just to see what I missed.

Serenity is a lovable person who seems to get herself stuck in one sticky situation after another.  I kept thinking that is she would just communicate with Jeremy a little more so many of her issues would not even exist.  Her huge heart made her want to protect Jeremy from everything that could cause him any stress and that actually caused him a lot more stress.

Construct a Couple is a sweet quirky novel that I enjoyed very much.  I’m definitely adding the first book in this series to my TBR list.  And cannot wait to read the third book, Marriage to Measure. 

Buy Construct a Couple by Talli Roland
Amazon   |   Goodreads

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Thursday, January 10, 2013

The Very First Bite by Cynthia Langston

Reviewed by Charlotte Lynn

Lanie Albers has ten weeks until her class reunion.  She has twenty pounds of extra weight, a job she doesn’t like, and a non-boyfriend.  Lanie is panicking.   She knows her ex, Chad, from high school will be at the reunion and they never really settled things.  Candace, her best friend from high school, who moved out and never talked to her again, might be at the reunion.  The Very First Bite tells all of Lanie’s struggles to get a handle on everything.

While reading The Very First Bite, I saw some of myself.  The self esteem and body images issues are something most readers will relate to on some level.  Watching Lanie bounce from diet to diet and not get the results she wants and then seeing her realize that hard work, not the easy answers, are the way to get the results she wants, just made her seem so much more real to me.    But I will say there were times I wanted to skip parts and move on, a little too much dwelling on food for me.

I did enjoy the romance part of the story.  Mark, who won’t commit, and Chad, who never really broke up, were lovable.  The hope of getting back together with Chad, although they haven’t talked in years and have no clue if there is still an attraction between then.   With Mark you could feel he just needed a little push and that he really did love Lanie, and he loved her as she was.  Which made him perfect to me.

The Very First Bite is a witty and funny story that all women will relate to.  I definitely recommend it. 

Buy The Very First Bite by Cynthia Langston



The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Goodnight, Brian by Steven Manchester


Reviewed by Charlotte



Shortly after Brian is born to Joan and Frank, the doctors tell the parents that due to problems with the formula they had been feeding him he has devastating brain damage.  He will never walk or talk.  But the doctor had not counted on Mama, Brian’s grandma.  Mama tells all her grandchildren that can’t is not a work.  Everyone can.  She goes on to prove this with Brian.

Goodnight, Brian is a story of family, love, and challenges.  A story where giving up is never an option.  I shed a lot of tears while enjoying this novel.  Some were tears of sadness, like when Joan and Frank are told of Brian’s brain damage.  Some tears of happiness, like when Brian spoke his first works and took his first steps. 

Never have I read a book with so much love.  The Mauretti Family has love and faith unlike any family I know.  Mama was in charge of the family and definitely Brian’s hero, be she was not the bossy grandma.  She led by example, everything she did taught someone a life lesson.  Lessons most of us need someone to teach us, not be telling us.  Everyone who came around the Mauretti Family walked away learning something and becoming part of the family. 

Angie, Brian’s younger sister, was one of my favorite characters.  She was the rebel child.  The child that seemed like she was always living in Brian’s shadow.  I felt she was one of the stronger grandchildren.   When Mama was unable to take care of Brian or just not around A…E (as Brian called her) was the one who stepped in and made sure that all of Brian’s needs were taken care of. 

This is the second book of Steven Manchester’s that I have read and loved.   I felt this book was AMAZING.  Absolutely amazing.  Anyone who has a heart will love this novel.  The morals and the love shine through.   Steven wrote another great novel that I will easily and happily recommend to everyone.  

Buy Goodnight, Brian by Steven Manchester
Barnes and Noble    |      Amazon

Follow Steven Manchester

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influence


Monday, January 7, 2013

The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro


Reviewed by Charlotte



In 1900, $500 million worth of art was stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston.  This is the largest unsolved heist in history.

Aiden Markel approaches artist Claire Roth to paint an exact replica of a real Dega painting that was stolen during the Gardner Museum heist.   She agrees to paint in exchange for a show at his gallery and cash payment.  As she starts to paint, she begins to suspect that the painting Aiden has brought her is not the original as suspected, but a forgery.   She is very into research and finds the ways to prove it is not a true Degas.  If this is not the real Dega, where is the real one?   As Claire searches for answers she discovers there is more going on with the painting, the heist, and with Aiden than she originally thought.

I will admit that art is a subject I don’t have much knowledge of, but I found The Art Forger easy to read and understand.  Even not having art knowledge I was able to follow the terms and descriptions of the techniques that Claire was using to replicate the Degas.  Every chapter flowed easily into the next, keeping the drama going.  The suspense of having to know what Claire would discover next kept me reading late into the night.
 
I loved reading of her past relationship with Isaac and the drama that surrounded it.  Seeing how Claire dealt with the people in the art world who doubted her talent due to the relationship with Isaac was great.  Claire managed to stay strong and convince others around her to believe as she did, even if it was a struggle at times.   Shapiro did a great job weaving Claire’s past and present into one amazing story.

As the end was coming I had no clue as to how the novel would pan out, but was happy with the ending.  There was humor, love and sex, drama, and intrigue in the novel and I totally enjoyed it from beginning to end.  I highly recommend The Art Forger to any art lover.

Buy The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro
Barnes and Noble     |     Amazon

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.





Thursday, January 3, 2013

Summer Melody by Toddie Downs


Review by Charlotte



It’s the summer of 1992.   Jane is happy school is out and looking forward to a summer of not having to try to fit in at school.  She never dreams that she would be getting a job.  She loves taking care of an autistic little boy.  Bonnie has been visiting her Mother, who suffers from Alzheimer’s, in the nursing home and realizes there are secrets from the past she needs to uncover.  Meg is planning her marriage to the love of her life, but fears that the wedding will not happen.  All three girls are part of the same family, The Stanton Family, and are lucky to have each other and the buried strengths come out during their individual challenges.

Summer Melody is a book for any age reader.

The teenager will easily relate to Jane.  Her character is a true teenager.  She fights with her mother and brother.  Hides out in her bedroom when feeling stressed.  But still stands by her family and pulls it together in the times of need.

The young adult will relate to Meg.  Falling in love, planning her wedding while trying not to cause waves with the future in-laws.  It is a hard and fine line but Meg does it perfectly and stays strong.  She knows what is important to her and when to give in.

The mom’s will relate to Bonnie.  She knows she needs to stay strong for her kids, but struggles with her ailing mother.  As a mom, she has a good sense of when to stand back from her kids and let the figure it out and when to get involved.  No matter which course she takes her kids always know she is there for them.  Which is more than her mom ever was for her.

This book would be great for a book club.  There are three strong women characters from three generations all trying to overcome their own struggles.    I highly recommend this novel. 

Buy Summer Melody by Toddie Downs

Follow Toddie Downs 
Facebook

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.





Tuesday, January 1, 2013

The Reluctant King by Rachel Higginson


Review by Charlotte Lynn





Avalon and Eden have defeated Lucan and are now ruling their people with freedom and peace.   Eden is happily married to Kiran and just returning from a two year honeymoon.  Avalon is use to being a  warrior and leader and is bored and lonely.

When the kingdom is threatened, Avalon is called to fight to save his people.   When he meets Amelia, who is in his every thought and causing him to lose control of his own world, he realized he isn’t lonely anymore.
The Reluctant King is written from Avalon’s point of view, which I love.  It was great to have all the characters back from the other books in this series.  Jericho, Kiran, Eden, Sebastian, Sylvia, and everyone else that I missed reading about were back.   Watching the connection between Avalon and Eden stay strong and true, having Eden and Kiran be happy and in love are all of what I hoped for at the end of Rachel’s  last book in this series.  The fact that Avalon found love made this novel even better, with a happy ending for Avalon that I was hoping for. 

Rachel Higginson truly outdid herself.  With each book in this series I become more and more enraptured with the Star Crossed Series.  I am anxiously awaiting the next release.  If you have not read this series you are seriously missing out on a great set of books.

Buy The Reluctant King by Rachel Higginson

Follow Rachel Higginson
Goodreads   |    Blog   |   Facebook

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.
FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.