Saturday, March 30, 2013

The Collector by Victoria Scott

Reviewed by Charlotte Lynn



Dante Walker is a soul collector.  When the boss man gives him a job with a time limit, he thinks how hard can this be?  That is until he meets his target, Charlie.  Charlie is a quirky, nerd with a true heart of gold.  This job will test his abilities as a collector and bring his past to the present forcing him to deal with what he hasn’t been able to put behind him.

This novel has a lot of hype around it, all my friends cannot wait for it to be released, and you should believe the hype.  From the very first page I loved this novel.  Dante is young, hot, and bad…the perfect villain.  The character you want to hate but still keep hoping he will see the error of his ways.

Charlie is a good girl, unlike any other.  She is what many would call a good-two-shoes and of course attracts the bad boy, Dante.  I kept hoping Charlie would either wake up and take a chance on the bad boy or wake up and get far far away from Dante.  I loved when she told Dante that she saw the good in him, at that point I had a great idea on where the story was heading. 

The young adult novel will certainly be a favorite of many.  I will recommend it to my daughters and their friends, my family, and my friends.  This is a story that everyone, male or female, will love.  The second book cannot get here fast enough.

Follow Victoria Scott
Website   |   Twitter     

Purchase The Collector by Victoria Scott

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, March 28, 2013

The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston

Review by Charlotte Lynn


In 1628 Bess watches her mother hang for being a witch.  Bess’ mother knows that Bess will be targeted next and tells her to run to Gideon.  Gideon gives Bess instructions and wakes her powers making her a powerful witch.

Fast forward to present day England.  Elizabeth keeps to herself, moving from place to place to avoid Gideon finding her.  When a young girl, Tegan, comes to her house she cannot fight her loneliness and becomes a friend and mentor to Tegan.  She begins to teach Tegan the ways of a witch.  Together she hopes they can stand against Gideon and end his terror.

This is an amazing story.  The details shared made me feel as if I was in the 1628 England, in the little cottage Bess grew up in.  With every part of history Bess shared I grew to love her character more and more.  I was praying that she would find a way to fight off Gideon so she could live in peace and not be forced to pack-up and move again.

Tegan, I was not so sold on.  She was a typical teenager.  Not quite ready to make a true commitment to her witch educations and constantly making excuses for her absenses.  Near the end I felt a little more sympathy for her.  I mean her first true love is not quite who or what she thought he was.  I would have liked more background on Tegan.

In this novel, I found myself lost in the magic and forgetting time.  Finding myself reading way past bedtime and sad when my family interrupted me.  I highly recommend this novel.  You will fall in love with Bess from the very first chapter. 

Purchase The Witch's Daughter by Paula Brackston

Follow Paula Brackston

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.




Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Angelology & Angelopolis by Danielle Trussoni GIVEAWAY



Danielle Trussoni’s debut novel, ANGELOLOGY received both critical and commercial success – a New York Times Bestseller, a New York Times Book Review notable book of the year, and rave reviews from People, USA Today, and O, the Oprah Magazine.

Angelology (Angelology #1) by Danielle Trussoni


(From GoodReads)
A thrilling epic about an ancient clash reignited in our time- between a hidden society and heaven's darkest creatures 

There were giants in the earth in those days; and also after that, when the sons of God came in unto the daughters of men, and they bore children to them.
Genesis 6:5

Sister Evangeline was just a girl when her father entrusted her to the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in upstate New York. Now, at twenty-three, her discovery of a 1943 letter from the famous philanthropist Abigail Rockefeller to the late mother superior of Saint Rose Convent plunges Evangeline into a secret history that stretches back a thousand years: an ancient conflict between the Society of Angelologists and the monstrously beautiful descendants of angels and humans, the Nephilim.

For the secrets these letters guard are desperately coveted by the once-powerful Nephilim, who aim to perpetuate war, subvert the good in humanity, and dominate mankind. Generations of angelologists have devoted their lives to stopping them, and their shared mission, which Evangeline has long been destined to join, reaches from her bucolic abbey on the Hudson to the apex of insular wealth in New York, to the Montparnasse cemetery in Paris and the mountains of Bulgaria.

Rich in history, full of mesmerizing characters, and wondrously conceived, Angelology blends biblical lore, the myth of Orpheus and the Miltonic visions of Paradise Lost into a riveting tale of ordinary people engaged in a battle that will determine the fate of the world.



Angelopolis (Angelology #2) by Danielle Trussoni

(From GoodReads)

The sequel to the New York Times bestselling Angelology will thrill fans of Deborah Harkness, Justin Cronin, and Elizabeth Kostova

Hailed by USA Today as “a thrill ride best described as The Da Vinci Code meets Raiders of the Lost Ark,” Danielle Trussoni’s bestselling first novel, Angelology, wove biblical lore, the Orpheus myth, and Milton’s Rebel Angels into a present-day world tinged with the divine supernatural. The novel plunged two endearing loners—art historian V. A. Verlaine and Evangeline, a beautiful young nun—into an ancient battle between a secret society and mankind’s most insidious enemies: angel-human hybrids known as the Nephilim.

Now a decade has passed since Verlaine saw Evangeline alight from the Brooklyn Bridge, the sight of her wings a betrayal that haunts him still. The Nephilim are again on the rise, scheming to construct their own paradise—the Angelopolis—and ruthlessly pursued by Verlaine in his new calling as an angel hunter. But when Evangeline materializes, Verlaine is besieged by doubts that will only grow as forces more powerful than even the Nephilim draw them from Paris to Saint Petersburg and deep into the provinces of Siberia and the Black Sea coast. A high-octane tale of abduction and liberation, treasure seeking and divine warfare, Angelopolis plumbs Russia’s imperial past, modern genetics, and the archangel Gabriel’s famous visitations to conceive a fresh tableau of history and myth that will, once again, enthrall readers the world over.



PRAISE FOR THE ANGELOLOGY SERIES:

“A heaven-sent supernatural thrill ride best described as The Da Vinci Code meets Raiders of the Lost Ark …Danielle Trussoni's stellar debut novel that forever will change how you think about the winged creatures.”—USA Today

“Angelology finds an almost hallucinatory power…fusing the divine and the debased, the psychological and the theological, into a single rich, strange tableau that transmits a shock of truth.”—Time

“Breathtakingly imaginative first novel…Once you’ve entered Angelology’s enthralling world…you’ll be thinking ‘Vampires? Who cares about vampires?’ ”—People

“Adventures beyond Dan Brown’s wildest dreams [and] writing that far outstrips Brown’s pedestrian fare…Trussoni is such a graceful, clever and brainy wordsmith that her celestial drama becomes both
believable and captivating.”—Town & Country

“Trussoni’s gorgeous writing, fantastical imagination and familiarity with biblical and mythological texts are on splendid display in Angelology…One cannot help being seduced by this unusual, imaginative
literary, religious thriller.”—Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

“Trussoni anchors this fanciful dark fantasy to a solid foundation built from Catholic church history, biblical exegesis, and apocryphal texts. Suspenseful intrigues and apocalyptic battle scenes give this complexly plotted tale a vigor and vitality all the more exciting for its intelligence.”—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Critically acclaimed memoirist Trussoni breaks into the fiction market in a big way.  [ANGELOLOGY is] an ambitious adventure story with enough literary heft and religious fervor to satisfy anyone able to embrace its imaginative conceits and Byzantine plot.”—Kirkus Reviews



Giveaway: a copy of both Angelology & Angelopolis (the copy of Angelopolis is a signed copy)!  

US addresses and no PO boxes.





Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Sky by R.E. Palmer

Review by Charlotte Lynn



Taken from Amazon:

Teenager Tomas Moone thinks he may be losing his mind.

For years, he has seen the face of a girl called Sky as he sleeps. He and Sky share previous moments together in his dreams, providing comfort and solace after the sudden death of his father.

Then Sky disappears, and is replaced by another, Selene. She whispers promises to him, takes him to new and wondrous places while he sleeps. Despite this, Tomas misses Sky and longs to find her again.

When Selene appears in physical form, revealing the secret of whom she really is, Tomas is stunned. Suddenly, he has a new reason for living – to save mankind, and find the girl of his dreams.

But Tomas is unaware that Selene has hidden plans for him – plans that threaten him, the girl he loves and everything he holds dear…


Review:

Sky was written from many characters point of view, which I enjoyed.  I was able to get a lot of background from each character making it easy to understand and relate.  Tomas seemed to be the main character, the point of view mostly told from his perceptive.

Tomas was someone I understood.  Young insecure, with a good sense of right and wrong.  He met Sky in his dreams and knew he would do anything to save her.  But this is much more than a love story.  I would categorize  it more as a fantasy novel.  There was some horror to the story and that is not my thing, but I was able to read through it and enjoy the whole story.

This is the first book in this series.  The next due out June 2013.  I recommend this to male and female readers.   





Purchase Sky by R.E. Palmer


Follow R.E. Palmer


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, March 25, 2013

Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans by Joanne DeMaio

Review by Charlotte Lynn


Maris Carrington heads back to New England to settle her father’s estate.  While cleaning out the house she discovers a family secret, which she has to solve before moving on with her life.  Maris also reconnects with her old summer friends.  One of her friends has passed away, another is unemployed and having marital problems, one is desperate to know her biological parents, and the other is dealing with guilt from a decision made a long time ago.   Everyone supports each other and helps them to deal with their issues.

While Maris is the main character in this novel, I found myself looking for Jason, the friend dealing with guilt, throughout the story.  His story line touched me the deepest.  I hated seeing him struggle so much with his life.  Yet, he was the one who stayed the strongest for everyone else.  My favorite part was when he finally opened up and shared his demons, therefore dealing with his guilt instead of keeping it buried.

Since I am reading this during the winter, I find myself feeling the heat of the sun and the hearing the crash of the waves, enjoying it enough that I dreamt of it.  The descriptions of the scenes were that real to me.  I could see the boardwalk, feel the sand, and see all the cute cottages on the beach.  Joanne DeMaio did an amazing job of making feel like I was part of this group of friends. 

Anyone looking to get away from their everyday life should pick up this book.  Maris and her friends will welcome you with open arms.  

Purchase Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans by Joanne DeMaio

Follow Joanne DeMaio
Website   |    Twitter   

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.




Friday, March 22, 2013

Market Street by Anita Hughes + Giveaway

reviewed by Laura

Cassie Blake was the Heiress to Fenton's, an upscale exclusive department store in San Francisco. She traded in her heiress crown for a pair of gardening gloves after she married her former Ethics professor, Aidan Blake. For ten years Cassie believed her life and marriage were perfect, but that all changed when she meets one of Aidan's students. After finding out Aidan had an affair, Cassie takes off to stay with her best friend, Alexis. 

While trying to figure out what to do about her marriage, her mother offers her a dream job. She wants Cassie to run a new Food Emporium, food/gardening is near and dear to Cassie. Seems like the perfect way to be a part of Fenton's. Cassie's life has completely changed and she is no longer sure what to do and things are about to get even more complicated.

This is one of those great books when you put it down you can't believe how much you've read! Anita Hughes does an amazing job with describing the foods, clothing--everything. I also really enjoyed getting to know all the different characters in Market Street. I really just loved Cassie and Alexis, they were such great friends and really looked out for each other. I loved seeing them come into their own. The only person I really didn't care for was Aidan. It wasn't just because he cheated--he seemed to treat Cassie like he loved her, but not really an equal (I would venture to guess that was how he was suppose to come across!).

I would have to call this a fun, delicious novel with a side sexy (it does get a little hot!) I am recommending Market Street! 



Follow Anita Hughes

Buy a copy of Market Street by Anita Hughes (out March 26)
Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Giveaway US only!


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Anything for You by Jessica Scott

Reviewed by Charlotte Lynn


This is a short story that continues the wonderful story of Shane and Jen.  Their love continues to grow, but they each live with their own fears.  Shane’s fear that Jen’s cancer will return and he will lose her.  Jen’s fear of Shane returning to war and getting injured again.  Anything for You is the story of dealing with their fear.

All I can really say about this short story is that I still love Shane and Jen.  I do not think I can ever get enough of their love and their story.  The honesty that they share with each other only goes to show how strong their relationship is and how in love they are.  Jessica Scott has proven in this story that Shane and Jen are a couple we should all try to live up to. 

I am very excited for the next novel in this series to be released, the story of Trent and Laura.  If you have not read any of Jessica’s work you are missing out on a great series of novel.  I get excited when I find out that she is writing something else, knowing that I will be able to get lost in another great novel.

Purchase Anything for You by Jessica Scott

Follow Jessica Scott

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.





Wednesday, March 20, 2013

THE FIVE W’S Of Jeanine Cummins



THE FIVE W’S 
Of Jeanine Cummins

WHO? Who are you besides a writer? 
I am a mama of two gorgeous and exhausting little girls, which means I am also a cook, housekeeper, laundress, hair stylist, personal shopper, chauffer, and caffeine addict.  I am also lucky to be wifey to a very handsome and supportive Irishman.

WHAT? What do you enjoy doing other than writing in your spare time?
We recently moved out of New York City to a little Hudson River town, which we love.  We bought kayaks and bikes, and we love being outdoors whenever weather permits.  Kids and dogs are high-energy, so we do what we can to wear them out.  Whenever I have the luxury of a date-night with my husband, we like to hit up some of the great live-music venues in NYC.

WHEN? When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
I wrote my first novel at age seven.  It was scribbled on loose leaf and then trapped into a blue, three-ring binder with smiley-face stickers on the front.  It was about a little girl who skateboards across America. So I guess that’s when I knew.  Although in fairness, at that age I also wanted to be an archaeologist, a jockey, and Annie on Broadway.  I didn’t have red hair, so it was probably never going to work out.  The writing seemed like a good backup plan.

WHERE? Where do you write? 
Remember that handsome, supportive husband I mentioned earlier?  Well he did this thing for me last year: we bought a new house, and there was no dedicated office space for me.  It was my dream house in every other way, so I determined that, with our kids in school during the day, I didn’t really need a dedicated writing studio.  So we set about doing the renovations we had to complete before we moved in.  And then, on our anniversary, he called me and asked me to meet him at the house, where he revealed that he had been hard at work building me a SECRET WRITING STUDIO above the detached garage.  It looks out over the treetops and the Hudson River.  Like my husband, it is close to perfect.

WHY? Why do you write?
Because I’m not cut out for real work?  Okay, joking aside: I write because I am compelled to write.  I can’t imagine a life for myself without writing.  I consider myself enormously lucky that I can do this thing that I love, and then people actually read my work, and I am able to make a living at it.  I just love words and stories, and I think I’d be surrounding myself with them no matter what.  I will continue making stories for as long as I can.

Follow Jeanine Cummins

Buy your copy of The Crooked Branch by Jeanine Cummins

Learn about Jeanine's new book!

The Crooked Branch
by Jeanine Cummins


(From Goodreads): From the national bestselling and highly acclaimed author of The Outside Boy comes the deeply moving story of two mothers—witty, self-deprecating Majella, who is shocked by her entry into motherhood in modern-day New York, and her ancestor, tough and terrified Ginny Doyle, whose battles are more fundamental: she must keep her young family alive during Ireland’s Great Famine.

After the birth of her daughter Emma, the usually resilient Majella finds herself feeling isolated and exhausted. Then, at her childhood home in Queens, Majella discovers the diary of her maternal ancestor Ginny—and is shocked to read a story of murder in her family history.

With the famine upon her, Ginny Doyle fled from Ireland to America, but not all of her family made it. What happened during those harrowing years, and why does Ginny call herself a killer? Is Majella genetically fated to be a bad mother, despite the fierce tenderness she feels for her baby? Determined to uncover the truth of her heritage and her own identity, Majella sets out to explore Ginny’s past—and discovers surprising truths about her family and ultimately, herself.




According to Booklist, THE CROOKED BRANCH is “wonderfully written, with strong, compelling characters, it is a deeply satisfying combination of sweeping historical saga and modern family drama, a gentle reminder of the ever-reaching influence of family, both near and far.”  

 
 PRAISE FOR THE CROOKED BRANCH

“An exploration of the fierce, primal love of motherhood that connects us all through generations.”
—Margaret Dilloway, author of How to Be an American Housewife

“[Cummins] touches all the tender places with exquisite timing.”
—Jo-Ann Mapson, author of Solomon’s Oak and Finding Casey

“Insightful, suspenseful, and sometimes bitingly funny…Immensely satisfying.”
—Simone St. James, author of An Inquiry into Love and Death
                                                                                                          
“Lyrical, emotional and often funny…[An] extraordinary novel.”
—Patti Callahan Henry, author of Coming Up for Air and Driftwood Summer

“A gorgeous, sweeping novel…that grips you from the first page and keeps you in its thrall.”
—Carolyn Turgeon, author of Godmother

“A haunting tale of motherhood and the ways in which it can ravage—and resurrect.”
—Kelly O’Connor McNees author of The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott and In Need of a Good Wife

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Becoming Mrs. Walsh by Jessica Gordon


Reviewed by Charlotte Lynn


Twenty six year old Shoshana Thompson, from Iowa, finds herself engaged to the last single brother of Washington D.C.’s influential Walsh family.  Now that she is engaged she has to learn to adjust to a privileged life style.  She also has to figure out how to live with Drew’s secretive job and life.  Can she accept not really knowing what he is doing?  Will she be ok with him being gone traveling all the time?

Shoshana , or Sho, also has to figure out her true feelings.  Her feelings for another man are growing and he has returned those feelings, but can she walk away from Drew for this other man.  She knows it would shatter the lives of both men and her own future.

When I picked up this 600 page novel, I was a little apprehensive.  Thinking wow that is a lot of reading.  Now that I am done with the novel I wish there was more, a lot more.  I loved that this was a story of family, in-laws, and love.  Drew’s mother, Birdie, and all his brothers and sister-in-laws all accepted Sho, even with her not being as wealthy and glamorous as the rest of them.  I loved that they did not judge her and actually too her under their wings, showing her the hows of the Walsh Family.  I feel like Sho was tougher and more critical of herself that anyone else in the family was. 

Drew, the fiancée, was a character I had a hard time with.  All his secrets and seemingly uncaring responses to Sho made me shake my head and wish for something more for Sho.  His wealth, high profile job, and influential family make him seem like the perfect catch, but I am still not convinced their marriage will last.

Finally, the ending of the novel…All I can say is so not expected.  But I am happy to report that the author is going to give me more.  Another novel about the Walsh’s is in the works.  Do not pass up the opportunity to read this novel.  You will not regret the time you spend reading Becoming Mrs. Walsh.

Purchase Becoming Mrs. Walsh by Jessica Gordon

Follow Jessica Gordon
Twitter   |   Facebook   |   Website

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Monday, March 18, 2013

Gods of Mischief by George Rowe

Review by Charlotte Lynn


George Rowe is tired of the way the motorcycle gang, the Vagos, is treating the residents of his town.  He decides to do something about it and joins forces with the ATF, becoming an informant.  He spends three years with the brothers of the Vagos and is ready to get out.

On top of dealing with the ATF and the gang, he also has to deal with a drug addict, pregnant fiancée, Jenna.  When he tells Jenna the truth, he realizes he has lived a total lie for the last three years and has lost everything, his business, his home, his family, and even himself.

Gods of Mischief is not the typical story that I would pick up and read, but I was totally enthralled with it.  George Rowe puts it all out there. He digs deep and tells exactly what being in a motorcycle gang entails, not sugar coating any of it.   The life of a 1%-er is not easy but as a tough bad-ass gang member you can make it.

This is a true story told by the man who lived it.  I found this novel full of adventure and fear.  It was heart wrenching and moving.  George is a hero, putting his own well being at risk to help the town and people he calls friends.  Do not hesitate to pick up this novel, you will not be sorry.

Purchase Gods of Mischief by George Rowe

Follow George Rowe


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Friday, March 15, 2013

When She Was Gone by Gwendolen Gross

Reviewed by Laura Kay
It's almost time for the new school year to begin and Linsey Hart is about to go off to school at Cornell. Early one morning Linsey walks off and just disappears. Leaving behind her family and community to wonder and speculate what happened. 

When She Was Gone opens up the doors to numerous households in Linsey's small suburban neighborhood and allows it's readers to see inside. As the neighborhood grapples with the young girls' disappearance, they are also struggling to keep their own secrets buried. 

The story is told with numerous vantage points from her mother to a young boy who is an outcast, but who might just hold the answers in his collection of 'things'. 

This isn't just a story about what happened to Linsey, but a story about what goes on behind closed doors of her neighborhood--uncensored. As the reader, we get to see everything they are really doing and thinking. Abigal's (Linsey's mother) whole world is turned upside down she can barely function and yet when she goes door to door to find out if her neighbors may have seen anything, one neighbor closes the door on her face. Gross really pulled down the veil and exposes some deep down truths.

I am definitely one who always wonders who are people really when I can't see them, so I really enjoyed getting the all access pass. During most of the book, I can't say I was really vested in any of the neighbors stories. For me the aspect that kept drawing me in further was the mystery of what really happened to Linsey. It was like the more I found out the less I really knew. Then at the end of the novel it felt like suddenly all those doors I had been peeping in were suddenly closed, I was once again shut out of their personal lives. I realized I'd been more connected to these characters than I thought.

I was completely hooked! There were a number of moments where I was reading along, while holding my breath! I am a huge fan of Gwendolen Gross's writing style--smart and precise. I highly recommened When She Was Gone!

Follow Gwendolen Gross

Buy your copy of When She Was Gone by Gwendolen Gross


The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, March 14, 2013

The Living Room by Bill Rolfe

Review by Charlotte Lynn


The Living Room is a short story that is actually one of Bill Rolfe’s dreams.

Daniel Clay started in the mail room of his guardian’s, Art, investment firm and is now almost a partner.  Before being given the partnership, Art tells him he needs to change his non-existent personal life to an existent personal life.  When an uncle he never knew existed leaves him a house in England Daniel decides to head to England to check out the house and take a short vacation.

After a mishap while fixing up the house, he meets Clair, a pediatric nurse.  At her suggestion he opens his house to her terminal patients hoping to make their final days more comfortable.  With each child, Daniel prays for a miracle and the prayers get answered.  With each answered prayer Daniel gets sicker and sicker and is in need of a prayer of his own.

This novel has a religious element that I very much enjoyed.  I believed in miracles and have seen it happen.  The fact that Daniel had miracles happen around him makes him the type of friend we all need, just because he believes.   But even a non-believer of miracles will enjoy this story.

Daniel is the main character and had a lot of changes from the start of the story to the end of the story.  These changes were definitely for the better.  He goes from being a lonely, over worked man with no social life to a man whose found love and enjoys giving back to society.

I could see where this story was heading, but enjoyed the path Bill Rolfe took me on to get there.  This is an emotional story that will pull you in and make you glad you read it. 

Purchase The Living Room by Bill Rolfe

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.




Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Red Adept Publishing One Year Anniversary




To celebrate Red Adept Publishing's one-year anniversary, they are hosting a great contest
with some terrific prizes.

First prize is a $100 Amazon Gift Certificate.


Head on over to Red Adept to sign up for this contest.   

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Falling in Love by Stephen Bradlee

Review by Charlotte Lynn

Falling in love is based on a true story of a young girls battle with addiction.

After being abandoned by her mother, left to live with her uncaring aunt and abuser uncle , Sherry Johnson starts searching for love.  That search got her kicked out of college and cost her many good relationships.
Eventually Sherry moves to New York City and joins a support group.  With the help of this group her confidence grows, she makes friends who like her for who she is and fights her addictions.   She even starts playing soccer again.

I saw the cover to this novel and knew that I had to read this.  Sex addiction is not something I am familiar with, but I truly enjoyed the story.  Once I started reading I could not stop.  It was very difficult not to immediately feel sorry for the life Sherry was dealt.  Sherry had a rough childhood and was given no love, ever, in her life.

This is not a story of sex, actually there was very little actual sex in the story.  This is a story of a girl living through her addiction of her strength and her ability to find herself and move past her history.  This book opened my eyes to the struggles an addict goes through and how very important the support  they receive is to their sobriety.  This is a true 5 star novel.

The author has graciously offered every one who reads this review a chance to get Falling in Love at Smashwords for 99 cents.  Just use this code to purchase it   FC39H.



Purchase Falling in Love by Stephen Bradlee

Follow Stephen Bradlee

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.




a Rafflecopter giveaway




Monday, March 11, 2013

Fame by Tilly Bagshawe

Review by Charlotte Lynn

Put together an actress, Sabrina, straight out of rehab and a director, Dorian, who is broke and you get the novel Fame.

Sabrina is straight out of rehab and knows that she is on Hollywood’s blacklist.  But she is given one last chance by getting the part of Cathy in the remake of Wuthering Heights.  She must get over herself and her better than everyone else attitude.

The part of Heathcliff is played by Viorel.  He is sexy arrogant actor.  The chemistry between Sabrina and Vio is sizzling and exactly what Dorian was hoping for.  But can he put his playboy ways and his past behind him and accept true love?

Dorian, the director, has put everything he has on the line for this movie.  His family home and his diva wife have left him broke.  His fued with Director Harry Greene has made him not so popular with the Hollywood scene.

Tish’s family home is where the bulk of Wuthering Heights will be shot.  This is the saving grace for her, since the home is in need of some TLC and the money has run out.   She has returned from Romania, where she runs an orphanage, to her family home to try to figure out how to save the house and keep it in the family.

My favorite character has to be Vio.  A sexy movie star who has morals and is good to the “Little People.”  He is friendly to everyone and tries to make everyone comfortable.  He also lets himself be the bad guy to save Sabrina’s self image with the reporters.  How could anyone not love this man?

I am not a big Hollywood start follower, but I loved this book.  There was so much more to this than just Hollywood glitz.   There is struggles with money, drugs and alcohol abuse, sex and of course love.  I felt like all the characters get what they had coming to them, most happy endings, but still had that one unhappy ending.  The unhappy ending was so deserved that it made me happy.

I know I will be looking for more from Tilly Bagshawe and will be sharing this novel with all my friends.

Purchase Fame by Tilly Bagshawe

Follow Tilly Bagshawe

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Sunday, March 10, 2013

Big Bad Bite by Jessie Lane






We have some very exciting news.  One of Charlotte Lynn's favorite authors, Jessie Lane,  just got her book, Big Bad Bite, back from the editor and it is now available at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. If you missed my review check it out here.  I have included a book blurb.   You will seriously be very sorry if you miss the chance to get this novel.


Book Blurb:

What would it be like to live in a world where you are considered abnormal to those who
are above the norm?

Jenna O’ Conner has been taught her whole life to hide from everyone. Never to let
anyone to close enough to know that she would prefer a shotgun for her birthday over of
a bouquet of roses. She’s been smothered by her over protective family so that no
one learns what she truly is. Which is not human. Nor, is she considered the norm for the
supernatural Other community that is benevolent enough to share this world with the humans.

In a desperate attempt to live her own life away from the small town she was raised in,
Jenna obtains her dream job as the newest member on the Wilmington Police Department’s
SWAT Team. What she didn’t predict was that she would run into trouble her first day on the
job, in the form of a deadly, mouthwatering man named Adam McPhee. Who is also not human,
but more like a wolf walking around in human skin. He’s determined to figure out exactly what
Jenna is, which unbeknownst to him, could very well put her life in danger. He’s also determined
to have her all to himself.

As if that wasn’t enough for Jenna to deal with, bad news blows into town. A group of
extremist Shifters who think humans are cattle and factions of Others worldwide should stay
within their own species - never to intermingle. Chaos ensues. Jenna has to find a way to shut
them down, but in the process of trying to do that, discovers things about herself that even she
never thought was possible.

Who said the wolf was what you had to worry about?

Welcome to the real world.





Friday, March 8, 2013

A PLACE FOR US by Liza Gyllenhaal

Reviewed by Laura Kay

Rich privileged girl meets poor boy they fall in love, get married, have two kids, get a dog and live in a pretty picturesque town. Sounds perfect, it was perfect until the threads of that life slowly get pulled out of the fabric of their lives. Brook Bostock has always deep down worried that maybe Michael had married her for her money, but when her friend shares a long kept secret her insecurities resurface. As she swallows her new information, the world she has created begins to crumble.

Brooke and Michael are away for the night. A teenage girl is assaulted in their home after a night of teenage drinking. Their son Liam is the accused. But he isn't the only one being held responsible, so are the Bostocks because it was their home. The scandal gets national attention because of Brooks family name. Her family believes this gives them the right to tell her what to do. The town she has grown to love begins to show signs of jealousy.

Having been sent away to a private prep school, Liam is dealing with his own demons. Can this family find a way through this together, or is it all too much. The more you read the more family secrets revealed.

A Place for Us, has numerous points of view, which I think really allows the reader to gain greater feelings for each of the characters. There is also a number of flashbacks. I found most of the flashbacks to be useful, but sometimes I'd be confused and then figure out oh this is a flashback.

This for me was one of those books for me that didn't grab me right away. I read the first few chapters and they were good. The whole book reads very quickly and easily. Then the novel started to grab me a little. I really liked Liam and Phoebe. I really liked their story, what they were each going through. I kept reading along and got to know Michael a little more and knew he was hiding something, but WHAT? I really wasn't sure why, but I didn't care for Brooke through most of the novel. She was just so focused on Liam being innocent and to get things to move on she was ignoring so much around her.

Like I was saying the book didn't grab me at first, but as I got deeper into the story the more I wanted to read. The more I wanted to read the story got better and better until I had to finish. If you are looking to curl up with a good novel this weekend, this is a perfect pick. I'm recommending it!

Follow Liza Gyllenhaal

Buy your copy of A PLACE FOR US by Liza Gyllenhaal

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Alberta Clipper by Sheena Lambert

Review by Charlotte Lynn

Christine Grogan has been living with terrible guilt.  On January 20th of each year she spends the day grieving over this guilt.  The rest of the year her life appears great.  She is 28 years old, with a job as a meteorologist at an investment bank, has a loving family, and great friends.  She just has to find a way to move on with her life. 

Mark Harrington is in a relationship that is heading any  where and has realized he has not had any control over it.  Other than that he has everything else going for him.  He is head of an international bank, handsome, and owns his own house.  He just needs to get control of his love life, which he hopes includes Christine.
Alberta Clipper is a true romance story.  Early on I knew Mark was in love with Christine, but Christine was clueless.  Through a Christmas party, conferences, and a New Years Eve party Christine and Mark finally start some type of a relationship.  But I was still hoping Christine would open up and share a part of her that very few know about.  For their relationship to last, and I was hoping it would, they had to have honesty and trust.

It seemed every character in this book had their own short story to add to the main story.  All these stories let me better understand the hows and whys of how each character was as they were.  Everything from insider trading, Christine’s past and office drama were covered making this so much more than just a love story. 

Sheena Lambert wrote a believable story about love and loss and finding your soulmate.  It is also a story of guilt, forgiveness, and betrayal.  I highly recommend this novel to everyone. 

Purchase Alberta Clipper by Sheena Lambert

Follow Sheena Lambert

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.



Wednesday, March 6, 2013

THE FIVE W’S Of Cari Kamm


THE FIVE W’S Of Cari Kamm

WHO? Who are you besides a writer? 
I have worked in the beauty industry for over a decade, building brands, working behind the scenes, and even selling my own skin care line. I have a master’s in clinical nutrition from New York University. I currently work in corporate social media management with clients in the beauty, fashion, and restaurant industries. Living in New York City with my mutt Schmutz, I love finding inspiration in the most unexpected places, being a novelist, and convincing my boyfriend that ordering takeout and making dinner reservations are equal to cooking.

WHAT? What do you enjoy doing other than writing in your spare time?
Eat! I’m a huge foodie. I blame New York City. I love to talk about food. Look at food. Eat food. I should mention that this refers to restaurants and not cooking. I don’t like to cook. I’m too exhausted to eat afterwards!  Also, I’m addicted to Soul Cycle classes. I never thought I would consider working out to be such a blast. Thankfully so... it helps with all the eating I do!

WHEN? When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
I’ve always been a storyteller or that person that loved to entertain and make my friends and family laugh. It’s a characteristic I get from my father. I was twenty-eight years old and craving inspiration at a specific point in my life. Here I was in New York City living and loving everything, even a shadow. But, something was missing in my life. So… I researched various hobbies from cooking (high burn risk), painting (too messy), volunteer opportunities, and even new career paths. I ended up taking a creative writing class with Mediabistro and it changed my life. During the class, I had no intention of writing a novel. I was more involved with the class because it challenged me, made me insecure, and sparked my spirit. The workshop assignments got me writing in class and at home. Five years and two books later... I’m still hitting the keys!

WHERE? Where do you write? 
I write from home or head out to one of my spots in New York City.  Sometimes, I just walk into random restaurants, bookstores, or coffee shops. I find inspiration in the unexpected. Not having a plan is sometimes the perfect plan. I begin first thing in the morning. Before anything can shift my mood or motivation, I make coffee and hit the keys. It might be for thirty minutes or hours. Writing is my morning stretch.
WHY? Why do you write?
I’m truly inspired by combing single letters to create words that are elegantly beautiful, defining, and powerful. To create words that when a reader connects to them, they pause, smile or even become melancholic. They may become inspired or see something familiar even sweeter. In a world so huge that can make us feel so small, writing reminds me how tall I truly am and the heights that I’m capable of reaching.

Thank-you so much for visiting us here on A Novel Review!


Get to know Cari Kamm by following her!



For Internal Use Only by Cari Kamm

(taken from GoodReads):


Chloe Kassidy has just been accepted into one of Manhattan’s most exclusive art exhibits, Love Through Light. However, with her singular dedication to her career, she soon realizes that in sacrificing her personal life, she has never been in love. A hopeless romantic who is terrified of heartbreak, Chloe begins to enlist the help of her circle of friends to learn about love through their very different stories and experiences.

In Chloe’s emotional rollercoaster to having the greatest love story ever told, she’ll learn that like her photography she must use the negatives in life to develop and prove that she’s a strong woman who found her way to love through light.

Inspired by the notion that women grow up with ideas of true love and destiny, For Internal Use Only approaches those ideas with a decidedly twenty-first century viewpoint. A humorous love story with an edgy and dramatic twist, For Internal Use Only is a vastly entertaining novel that gives each of us a new fairy tale to look forward too: our own.




Buy your copy of For Internal Use Only by Cari Kamm










Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Silver Lake by Kathryn Knight


Review by Charlotte Lynn





Five years ago, Brandy goes missing.  Her tight knit group of friends is devastated.  Now Brandy’s mom is on her deathbed and needs to know what really happen to her daughter, who has been haunting her dreams.  Brandy’s mom contacts Brandy’s friends to come back together at Silver Lake and find the truth of what has happen to Brandy.

Rain, Jason, Allie, and AJ all come together at the lake house.  Rain is recently divorced from her cheating high school boyfriend.  Jason is in a dead end relationship, waiting for the right time to end it.   Allis is happily married with twin autistic boys but is keeping a secret.  AJ comes from a very influential family where only the best is accepted and is also keeping a secret.

As they spend more time together things happen.  Doors slam, things fall off shelved, and a ghost of Brandy is seen.  The group knows the answer is out there and that Brandy is trying to lead them to her.  They just have to follow the clues to get to the answer.

This is Kathryn Knight’s first published novel and all I can say is WOW!  Every character in the book is perfectly developed.  The background given is just enough without giving too much information.  By the end of the story I felt like I had been at the lake house with them all.  Hanging out and experiencing what they had.

The ghost of Brandy gave me chills many times.  The clues she left her friends kept me at the edge of my seat having to know what had happen to her.  I loved that she was more prevalent when all four friends were together.  Some of the clues threw me off as to what happen and some confirmed what I was thinking.
The ending could have gone so many ways, but I am so happy with how it was written.  I feel like everything was settled and the characters all had their lives put right. 

I could not put this book down.  I highly recommend this story to everyone.  Romance, drama, renewal of friendships, and ghosts.  Sounds like something for everyone.  I cannot wait to see what Kathryn Knight writes next.  

Purchase Silver Lake by Kathryn Knight

Follow Kathryn Knight
Blog   |  Facebook   |   Goodreads

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, March 4, 2013

The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow by Rita Leganski

Review by Charlotte Lynn


The She Reads MARCH BOOK CLUB SELECTION is:

 The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow by Rita Leganski


William and Darcy met and fell immediately in love.  When Dancy ends up pregnant they quickly head to a Justice of the Peace and get married.   Their life was perfect until, on William’s birthday, he was shot and killed.  A pregnant Dancy grieves so completely that it affected her unborn baby, Bonaventure.

Bonaventure is born a healthy baby, except he made no sound.  No crying, no fussing.  He was born special and those closest to him knew it.  He has superb hearing, not just hearing but the ability to listen.  Using the talent he helps his family heal, releasing the dark secrets and their hold on his family.

When I read the description of this novel I was intrigued and hopeful for what I would be reading.  Rita Leganski did not let me down.  This was a slow read for me, not that I didn’t want to keep reading, but I was pulled so deeply into the story I found myself slowing down and savoring every word.  The descriptions of every character made them seem so real.  The sounds Bonaventure hears made everyday items, that I never stop to think about, come alive. 

What really won me is over is the relationship Bonaventure has with his mother and father.  His mother, Dancy, never doubts that her son is perfect, exactly as he was suppose to be.  His father, who has passed away, comes back as a ghost and manages to connect and share all the valuable lessons a child needs to learn from their father.

This has to be one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far.  I can already hear my book club discussing and loving this novel.

Purchase The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow by Rita Leganski

Follow Rita Leganski

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.


Make sure to head over to She Reads for your chance to win a copy of THE SILENCE OF BONAVENTURE ARROW by Rita Leganski!



FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.