Friday, July 25, 2014

The XYZ Affair by Mary Billiter

Published June 1, 2014 by Koehler Books

Mystery writer Dani Quinn hasn’t been home for years. Once she put Casper, Wyoming, in her rearview mirror, she expected it to stay a distant childhood memory. But when her second marriage ends and a University teaching job in her hometown is offered, the single mom loads her three children in her Suburban and heads West. Casper, which many locals refer to as the “Ghost Town,” holds its own ghosts that emerge when Dani returns home.

When human skeletal remains are unearthed during renovations on campus, the University tries to keep the story buried. But skeletons and secrets are too irresistible for any mystery writer to ignore, and Dani finds herself in the center of a decades old mystery. She gets help from Chris Gorham (aka Gorm) her parent’s hot new neighbor, who follows the Code of the West and offers to help the newly divorced damsel in distress.

But Gorm has hidden secrets that Dani unintentionally unburies along with the skeleton. Dani recognizes the Greek letters, XYZ, on the fraternity ring found with the skeletal remains, and the mystery suddenly hits too close to home. Why the ring and the bones have been shelved by the University is just one of the many questions she has. The answers may cost not only her job, but her life.

My Thoughts…

I love the idea of finding a body on campus and then having to find out who they are.    Dani is a great character.   She is witty, emotional, and knowledgeable.   She was easy to relate to and I loved getting to know the whole cast of character in The XYZ Affair.    As her relationships with her parents and with Gorm is shared throughout the book, I would find myself feeling sorry for her.   She was twice divorced, unsure of her current relationship, and had a dad who was incredibly tough on her.    Then on top of that she had to handle her father’s failing health and finding a body that definitely had some ties to her dad.   It seemed like everything was piling up on her.   


This is a shorter book; I read it easily in a few hours.   If you are looking for a quick and easy read I would recommend checking out The XYZ Affair. 

Buy Links

 Other fun facts about Mary Billiter and The XYZ Affair


 And it was the only work of romantic suspense they featured in their "books we love that hit the shelf" - here's a link! She was proud of that national review.
Mary was recently a guest blogger on USA Today & here's link to that! 


  


Thursday, July 24, 2014

Then Came You by Jill Shalvis

Animal Magnetism #5
Publish July 1, 2014 by Berkley

Veterinary intern Emily can’t believe she wound up in the small town of Sunshine, Idaho, instead of the Los Angeles clinic she had always imagined. Now she has to put her plans to move to L.A. on hold for a whole year while she fulfills the obligation of her vet school scholarship.

Then Wyatt, her gorgeous one-night stand from a Reno vet conference, introduces himself as her new boss. And Emily is just as drawn to his seductive looks and quiet strength as she was on that very steamy night. She soon learns that Wyatt isn’t just a laid-back doctor, but a delicious alpha male tempting her away from her carefully laid-out plans...

My Thoughts:

Alpha Male, who doesn’t love a good Alpha Male??  That is exactly what Wyatt is.    From the very first time I met Wyatt, I knew he was the good guy.  He wasn’t a love them and leave them type of guy.  His issue is that he never got the chance to make choices for himself growing up so he doesn’t want to take that away from the people around him.  The fact that he had two sisters who couldn’t seem to keep their nose out of his business made me laugh and smile so many times, especially when they were right and even he knew it.

Emily need someone to push her a little to make the choice to stay with Wyatt and in Sunshine.    She was so focused on her plan that she couldn’t see what was right in front of her face.   The fact that everything she wants is in Sunshine and she wants to leave made ma shake my head.   I did love that she had a plan, that she knew what she wanted in life and went for it.   Even achieving most of it.   I didn’t love that she kept her past close to her, not sharing with Wyatt what made her who she is.     Honesty is the biggest part of any successful relationship and I fell like Emily was not able to be honest with Wyatt through most of the book.    


This is the first book by Jill Shalvis that I have read, but I can guarantee that I will be checking out more of them in the near future.  I definitely recommend this book to all my fellow romance lovers. 

Book Links

Author Links
Website   |   Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Goodreads   |   Google+   |   


Wednesday, July 23, 2014

A Love Beyond Time by Dante Craddock

Power of Love Quartet #1
Published May 16, 2014 by Fountain Blue Publishing

Ashley Brannock has always thought she was just an ordinary woman, like so many others. She has a loving boyfriend. A great job. She has everything she could have ever wanted. But she has always felt that something was missing. She’s never quite been able to pin down what it is. All she knows is that it’s been there her whole life.

Then the dream begins, throwing her life into total chaos. She must now find the answers to the dream. Why her? What is it showing her? The answers will open a whole new view of the world to her. This new view will reveal to her that love can go beyond time.

My Thoughts…

The paranormal of A Love Beyond Time intrigued me.    The fact that Ashley has memories from a man who lived and died so long ago and how real they felt kept me reading.  I wanted to know who the man was, why was his memories coming to her, and who was Alex.   The fact that Ashley did not let these memories go, she did what she needed to find out the answers that she really needs.  Then she follows her heart and traipses across the US to find the love of her life, who she has never met.    Ashley kept me entertained and wondering what she was going to find herself into next.

I really enjoyed watching Ashley and her best friends, aka the EVA’s, interact.   Their friendships were the truest kind of friendship.   They had each other’s back no matter what the situation was.  They knew when to push and when to step back from each other.   Even across the country they could interact and support each other when needed. 


I could not put the book down.  I truly enjoyed reading it and am looking forward to the rest of this series.  

Author Links
Website   |   Facebook  |   Pinterest   |   Twitter   |   Goodreads
Book Links

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Keep Your Friends Close by Paula Daly

Expected Publication September 2, 2014 by Grove Press

Natty and Sean Wainwright have a rock-solid marriage—with two daughters, a successful business, and a beautiful house, they are a model family. When their younger daughter falls ill on an overseas school trip, Natty rushes to her side. Luckily, Natty’s best friend from college, Eve Dalladay, is visiting and offers to stay with Sean to lend a hand in the Wainwright household. But Natty returns home to find that Eve has taken to family life a little too well: Sean has fallen in love with her. With no choice but to put on a brave face, Natty attempts to start anew—yet no matter how hard she tries to set herself upright, Eve is there to knock her down again. Then Natty receives a mysterious note that says Eve has done this before—more than once—and the consequences were fatal. On a mission to reveal Eve as a vindictive serial mistress, Natty must navigate through a treacherous maze of secrets and lies that threatens her life and the safety of her loved ones

My Thoughts:

Let me tell you that there is not one single thing that I did not love about this book.      Starting with the cover, I assume the picture on the front is Natty.  I love that as I am reading the book I know exactly what Natty looks like.    I could picture her and Sean, along with their kids, and nasty Eve as I read the entire book, but it was fun to know how the author pictured Natty.    The plot of the book was something I also loved.  I was entertain, intrigued, and 100% hooked from the very beginning.  Putting this book down was just not an option to me.    

Usually when I read a book where the guy cheats, he becomes someone that I dislike.  While Sean did cheat, he was not someone I could dislike.  He was someone that I felt sorry for.  He had a wife, Natty, that put everything before him and then smart and sexy Eve waltzes in and saves the day.    I know he should have walked away before the first blow job was given, I could almost understand why he couldn’t.   I really loved how, although he had moved out, he could not seem to stay away from Natty and the girls.   He was there every time one of them needed him; unfortunately Eve usually was tagging along also. 


The ending was unexpected as was a lot of the story.  There were new twists and turns on every page.   I highly recommend checking out Paula Daly’s newest release Keep Your Friends Close. 

Book Links

Monday, July 21, 2014

After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 When Lauren and Ryan’s marriage reaches the breaking point, they come up with an unconventional plan. They decide to take a year off in the hopes of finding a way to fall in love again. One year apart, and only one rule: they cannot contact each other. Aside from that, anything goes.


Lauren embarks on a journey of self-discovery, quickly finding that her friends and family have their own ideas about the meaning of marriage. These influences, as well as her own healing process and the challenges of living apart from Ryan, begin to change Lauren’s ideas about monogamy and marriage. She starts to question: When you can have romance without loyalty and commitment without marriage, when love and lust are no longer tied together, what do you value? What are you willing to fight for?

My Thoughts:

I started After I Do and kept putting it down.  I did not put it down because I did not want to read it, I put it down because I wanted to make it last.   The characters of Lauren and Ryan I fell in love with.   As they fought for their marriage I had to cheer them on.     I wanted them both to be happy, but I wanted them to be happy together.  

 As Taylor Jenkins Reid introduced the other characters, Leslie, Mila, Charlie and Natalie, and of course Rachel, I knew that this was a book that I would cherish.  I would love to have more books with these same characters featured. I felt like I was able to relate to the family dynamic and the friendships they each had.   I was invested in each characters life and happiness. 

As with other books by Ms. Reid I will happily recommend this to my friends and family.   This is a story that has romance, but it is not your normal romance.   It is more of a contemporary story.  

Praise for the book:
“Moving, gorgeous and, at times, heart-wrenching. Taylor Jenkins Reid writes with wit and true emotion that you can feel. Read it, savor it, share it.” – Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author of The Violets of March

Buy the book
·         Amazon Paperback: http://amzn.to/1iLZqf6
·        Amazon Kindle: http://amzn.to/1knPxoL

About the author:
Taylor Jenkins Reid is an author and essayist from Acton, Massachusetts. She graduated from Emerson College with a degree in Media Studies. Her first novel, Forever, Interrupted, was named one of the “11 Debuts We Love” by Kirkus Reviews. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Alex, and her dog, Rabbit. Her forthcoming novel, After I Do, will be published July 1, 2014.
Connect with the author:
·        Facebook: http://on.fb.me/QCF5T8
·        Twitter: https://twitter.com/tjenkinsreid
·        Website: http://www.taylorjenkinsreid.com/
·        Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1uZBWfi




Saturday, July 19, 2014

Book Blast of The Forever Love Series by Riley Rhea





Spencer Jacobs thought his life was pretty damn perfect. He had a good job, a long-time girlfriend, and a bright happy future ahead. That is, until that fateful night when he walked in and saw the ultimate betrayal between the woman he loved and his own twin brother. After having his heart ripped open by the two people he trusted most, Spencer fled his hometown in search for a new life.

Befriending Tucker Wade in this sleepy town had proven to be a good thing. Tucker had given him a job and a new beginning. He thought he needed time to heal, but even after the two years, he still hadn’t gotten over the pain of what that night had cost him. Spencer doesn’t believe that he will ever be able to trust anyone again with his heart, let alone to ever love again.  That is, until the fateful day Lexi Allen walked in his life. The spunky redhead had the ability to bust down that fortress he had built around his heart, leaving him questioning everything he thought he ever knew about himself.

Lexi Allen has never been in love. She has always held out for that special person, that special someone that she can give her whole heart to. The day hunky Spencer Jacobs walks in her life, she quickly realizes that he just may be that person. The only problem is, he’s broken and he can’t offer her anything more than a good time.


Will Lexi and Spencer ever find someone to love?  



Barnes & Noble  Kobo  iTunes
♥ Coming soon to paperback ♥



Cover Models ~ Rainey Wilson & Justin Hadden




They say you can never go home again. Brenna James is about to finish her final year of college when a visit home could change everything. Fate was pushing her towards her childhood best friend, Tucker, leaving Brenna no other option than to remember memories from a time once forgotten. Can Tucker slip himself into her heart? Will he be able to show her his feelings? The biggest question is, can Tucker help Brenna remember love?



Amazon US  Amazon UK Barnes & Noble  ♥ 
♥ Kobo ♥  iTunes Createspace ♥ 




Riley Rhea is your typical country girl, born and raised in the Bluegrass. In the last 30 something years, she has successfully brought into this world 3 children, which may or not be claimed by her, depending on their behavior.
Riley enjoys reading, spending time on the farm and quiet afternoons when those who call her mom leave the house. Riley also loves country music and drools over Luke Bryan. Riley’s biggest fears are crickets and banks.
Not just an avid reader, Riley is an active blogger and reviews many books during the span of a week when she isn’t writing about her loveable and sexy country boys.
She’s always had a background in writing, her mother being an author, and one day, out of the blue, 2 characters popped into her head and wouldn’t shut up. After some advice from a good friend, Remember Love was born.
Thank you all for taking time to get to know Riley a little better. You can always find her on Facebook if y’all want to chat a little more.


Facebook ♥ Blog ♥ Amazon Goodreads
Twitter ♥  Pinterest
♥ Email Riley @ rileyrheaauthor@gmail.com ♥