Thursday, February 26, 2015

Cover Reveal: MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE by Taylor Jenkins Reid!

We’re dreaming of summer—feet in the sand, soaking up the sun, taking a dip in the pool—but what we’re most excited about this summer is the release of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s third novel, MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE (on sale July 7, 2015). While we (impatiently!) wait for the book, today we’re giving you a first look at the gorgeous cover!

ABOUT MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE:
At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. She has lived in six different cities and held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college, but on the heels of a disastrous breakup, she has finally returned to her hometown of Los Angeles. To celebrate her first night back, her best friend, Gabby, takes Hannah out to a bar—where she meets up with her high school boyfriend, Ethan.

It’s just past midnight when Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go. Ethan quickly offers to give her a ride later if she wants to stay.
Hannah hesitates.
What happens if she leaves with Gabby?
What happens if she leaves with Ethan?

In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into surprisingly different stories with far-reaching consequences for Hannah and the people around her, raising questions like: Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?
Hannah believes there is. And, in both worlds, she believes she’s found him.





Taylor Jenkins Reid is an author and essayist from Acton, Massachusetts. She is the author of Forever, Interrupted and After I Do. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Alex, and her dog, Rabbit. You can follow her on Twitter @TJenkinsReid.

Taylor Jenkins Reid



Atria Books/Washington Square Press Paperback | 352 pages | ISBN:  9781476776880 | July 7, 2015 | $16.00

eBook: Atria Books/Washington Square Press | 352 pages | ISBN: 9781476776897 | July 7, 2015 | $11.99

Pre-order
MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE by Taylor Jenkins Reid



























As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review. The books I review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to me by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. I never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are my own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

New Uses For Old Boyfriends by Beth Kendrick + Giveaway

After growing up in privilege and marrying into money, Lila Alders has gotten used to the good life. But when her happily-ever-after implodes, Lila must return to Black Dog Bay, the tiny seaside town where she grew up. She’s desperate for a safe haven, but everything has changed over the past ten years. Her family’s fortune is gone—and her mother is in total denial. It’s up to Lila to take care of everything...but she can barely take care of herself.

The former golden girl of Black Dog Bay struggles to reinvent herself by opening a vintage clothing boutique. But even as Lila finds new purpose for outdated dresses and tries to reunite with her ex, she realizes that sometimes it’s too late for old dreams. She’s lost everything she thought she needed but found something—someone—she desperately wants. A boy she hardly noticed has grown up into a man she can’t forget...and a second chance has never felt so much like first love.


I personally think New Uses For Old Boyfriends sounds like a great read! I didn't have time to review it, but I wanted all of you to have a chance to win a copy!

To win just leave me an email address and tell me if you ever tried to get back together with an ex? This giveaway is for US only and no po boxes. I will pick a winner in about two weeks. If you tweet about the giveaway leave it in another comment and I'll give you an extra chance (make sure to tag me @anovelreview1 and use a link :) Good luck!


 Beth Kendrick

As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review. The books I review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to me by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. I never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are my own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner

She stood at a crossroads, half-aware that her choice would send her down a path from which there could be no turning back. But instead of two choices, she saw only one—because it was all she really wanted to see… 

Current day, Oxford, England. Young American scholar Kendra Van Zant, eager to pursue her vision of a perfect life, interviews Isabel McFarland just when the elderly woman is ready to give up secrets about the war that she has kept for decades...beginning with who she really is. What Kendra receives from Isabel is both a gift and a burden--one that will test her convictions and her heart.

1940s, England. As Hitler wages an unprecedented war against London’s civilian population, one million children are evacuated to foster homes in the rural countryside. But even as fifteen-year-old Emmy Downtree and her much younger sister Julia find refuge in a charming Cotswold cottage, Emmy’s burning ambition to return to the city and apprentice with a fashion designer pits her against Julia’s profound need for her sister’s presence. Acting at cross purposes just as the Luftwaffe rains down its terrible destruction, the sisters are cruelly separated, and their lives are transformed…

My Thoughts...I want to be very careful with my review here. I don't want to giveaway any spoilers. The story mainly focus on Emmy Downtree's life. Before the war, she was so anxious to grow up and prove herself, during the war doing whatever she could to survive the loss which had befallen her, and of course her survival. I was engrossed with Secrets of a Charmed Life from page one. I will say, the novel moves in such a way you can slowly guess what will happen to Emmy. I had to put the book down. I didn't want to read. I knew to some extent what was to come and my heart was already aching for her. I knew if I picked it up and read my heart would break, but it also demanded to be read. I couldn't put the novel down. I knew nothing of what was to come.

Meissner's storytelling made me breathless. Absolutely beautiful. There were points in the story my heart broke over and over again. A captivating read. You don't have to love historical fiction to love Secrets of a Charmed Life. I absolutely loved this novel! Highly recommending!

Friday, January 23, 2015

THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES by Sally Hepworth


A novel about three generations of midwives (a woman, her mother, and her grandmother) and the secrets they keep that push them apart and ultimately bind them together

THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES tells the story of three generations of women devoted to delivering new life into the world—and the secrets they keep that threaten to change their own lives forever. Neva Bradley, a third-generation midwife, is determined to keep the details surrounding her own pregnancy—including the identity of the baby’s father— hidden from her family and co-workers for as long as possible. Her mother, Grace, finds it impossible to let this secret rest. For Floss, Neva’s grandmother and a retired midwife, Neva’s situation thrusts her back 60 years in time to a secret that eerily mirrors her granddaughter’s—a secret which, if revealed, will have life-changing consequences for them all. Will these women reveal their secrets and deal with the inevitable consequences? Or are some secrets best kept hidden?

My thoughts...I loved THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES! This is a book you'll want to cuddle up on the couch and fall in love with. The novel is told in alternating voices of Neva, Grace and Floss. Each woman struggling to understand the others. I love books with alternating voices I feel it really allows each character to come alive for me and Hepworth did exactly this in her novel. I loved each of these women. Each of these characters have stories you are going to want to see how they come together or come to an end. The novel moves at a very nice pace just getting to know them and has a steady and slow build to the climax of the story--actually I would say there are really two climaxes! Floss has a life long secret and let me just tell you I was stunned! I mean really stunned! I never saw it coming. There was nothing about this book I didn't love. I could hardly put it down. A perfect weekend read!

You are not going to want to pass this novel up! Such a good good book I know you won't want to put this one down. THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES will surely be one of my favorites this year. I am highly recommending!


Follow Sally Hepworth
Twitter | Facebook | Website

Praise for The Secrets of Midwives

With empathy and keen insight, Sally Hepworth delivers a page-turning novel about the complex, lovely, and even heartbreaking relationships between mothers and daughters.  THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES is that rare tale that weaves together the past and the present in a totally absorbing narrative.  Sally Hepworth illuminates one of the most important moments in a woman’s life--when she becomes a mother—and spins a story  that will hold you captivated till the very end.

 – # 1 New York Times Bestselling author of The One and Only, EMILY GIFFIN

THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES is women’s fiction at its finest. Sally Hepworth has written a wonderfully satisfying story about three generations of midwives. It’s touching, tender and obviously meticulously researched,  giving the reader a fascinating window into the amazing world of midwifery. A delightful read.

-#1 New York Times Bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRET, LIANE MORIARTY


"THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES is a compelling exploration of life, loss, and love. Family secrets test the bonds between three women - Neva, her mother Grace, and her grandmother Floss - as they bring babies into the world and navigate their own complex paths. The story deepens and enlarges as it moves through their varied perspectives to its powerful  conclusion."

- #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Orphan Train, CHRISTINA BAKER KLINE

"From the first page, I could not put THE SECRET OF MIDWIVES down. Sally Hepworth delves into family secrets and family love in two different eras, adding mystery and plot twists at a breathless, exhilarating pace. I simply love this book!"  

- Bestselling Author of The Knitting Circle, ANN HOOD

Hepworth’s debut enchants from the first page, as three midwives—mother, daughter, and grandmother—defend their profession and unravel their secrets in the path of a classic New England storm. THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES is that rare novel that combines vibrant and nuanced characters with a breathtaking plot, and an almost mystical reverence for the magic of childbirth. I couldn’t stop until I’d turned the last page.

- New York Times Bestselling author of A Hundred Summers, BEATRIZ WILLIAMS

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

THE FIVE W’S and HOW Of Colleen Oakley + giveaway

Colleen Oakley's articles, essays, and interviews have been featured in The New York Times, Ladies’ Home Journal, Marie Claire, Women’s Health, Redbook and Martha Stewart Weddings. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, two painfully cute kids and a huge lapdog named Bailey. Before I Go is her debut novel.


THE FIVE W’S and HOW
Of Colleen Oakley

WHO? Who are you besides a writer? 
A mom to two adorable kids (with two more on the way!), a wife to a handsome and far-too-logical man, a maker of peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches, a drinker of margaritas, vodka tonics and wine (when I’m not pregnant), a Scrabble champion (most years, though sometimes my Mom steals the crown) and a French fry connoisseur.

WHAT? What do you enjoy doing other than writing in your spare time?
Reading! A perfect day to me is hours of uninterrupted time with my nose in a book. Preferably while lying on sand and looking at water. I watch the Food Network religiously and often cook meals that look nothing like they did on TV. I also train for 5Ks, 10Ks and triathlons that I have no hopes of winning.

WHEN? When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
Early. Ever since kindergarten, I’ve been making up stories, and often dreamt of seeing my name on the front of a book. To be fair, at that age I also wanted to live on a Care Bear cloud and marry Bo from Dukes of Hazzard, so it was a little unclear which dreams I was actually going to make good on.

WHERE? Where do you write? 
Well, each time I’ve thought that I was finally getting a home office, we’ve found out that we were pregnant and had to turn that office into yet another nursery. So I’ve been relegated to the armchair in the den. But sometimes I write in bed, next to my snoring husband or at the kitchen table while my kids do arts and crafts and pepper me with questions every five seconds that I can’t possibly begin to know how to answer. (What is the Internet? Why are there stars in outer space? Why can’t Elsa freeze things through her gloves, if she’s so magical?)

WHY? Why do you write?
So that I’m an easier person to live with. I’ve found that days where I haven’t made time to write (and the times when those days have turned into a week or more), I’m kind of unbearable (as my husband would gladly attest to). When I write, I’m a better mom, wife, friend, daughter— just happier in general. Unless my fantasy football team loses. And then I’m kind of unbearable again.

How? Has your writing success changed your life?
Yes! Our new private jet and weekend trips to St. Tropez have been especially nice. Just kidding. Getting my first book deal has been exciting, thrilling— a real honest-to-goodness dream come true. But on a day-to-day basis, my life is pretty much the same. I write, I eat (a lot, since I’m pregnant with twins) and I make more peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches then I ever thought would be possible in a single lifetime.



Before I Go
by Colleen Oakley


A heart-wrenching debut novel in the bestselling tradition of P.S. I Love You about a young woman with breast cancer who undertakes a mission to find a new wife for her husband before she passes away.

Twenty-seven-year-old Daisy already beat breast cancer three years ago. How can this be happening to her again?

On the eve of what was supposed to be a triumphant “Cancerversary” with her husband Jack to celebrate three years of being cancer-free, Daisy suffers a devastating blow: her doctor tells her that the cancer is back, but this time it’s an aggressive stage four diagnosis. She may have as few as four months left to live. Death is a frightening prospect—but not because she’s afraid for herself. She’s terrified of what will happen to her brilliant but otherwise charmingly helpless husband when she’s no longer there to take care of him. It’s this fear that keeps her up at night, until she stumbles on the solution: she has to find him another wife.

With a singular determination, Daisy scouts local parks and coffee shops and online dating sites looking for Jack’s perfect match. But the further she gets on her quest, the more she questions the sanity of her plan. As the thought of her husband with another woman becomes all too real, Daisy’s forced to decide what’s more important in the short amount of time she has left: her husband’s happiness—or her own?

I know I can't wait to read Before I Go! Well the publisher has offered me one copy to giveaway to someone with a US address! Just comment below telling me why you'd like to read this book and leave me your email address. I will pick a winner by random draw. You can earn a second chance by tweeting about the giveaway and leaving me a link to your tweet in the comment section and tag me @anovelreview1 in the tweet. Good luck!

Thanks everyone for entering! Congratulations to Connie for winning!

Follow Colleen Oakley

Buy your copy of BEFORE I GO
FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.