Thursday, July 17, 2014

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

Queen of Hearts Saga #2                                                                                                  
Publish date July 22, 2014

Alone in the wilds of Wonderland, Dinah fights for survival. When she meets the Yurkei, natives she was always taught were the enemy, and finds out she had been lied to all along, Dinah plots to reclaim her throne with their help. Filled with vivid imagery and thrilling action, Dinah’s transformation into a fierce warrior is stunning.

My Thoughts:

I read the first book in the Queen of Hearts Saga and could not wait for the second book to be released.   When the second book in the series appeared in my email box I could not believe it and was absolutely thrilled.   It quickly moved to the top of my TBR pile and once started I could not put it down.   I have been reading quite a few fairytales made into adult stories and have found that I absolutely love them.   Colleen Oakes is able to take the story of Alice in Wonderland and keep it true to the story we are all familiar with but yet adding so much more to the story.    The characters from the fairytale are still found throughout the entire story but in a different light.    I loved the Mad Hatter, The Caterpillar, and of course The Cheshire Cat.  

Dinah is put in a dangerous and tough position of questioning everything she thought was true in the Queen of Hearts.   She is on the run from the King of Hearts and does not know who she can trust.   When a Spade comes to help her to safety she knows she has to trust him but I never believed that he would actually keep her safe and help her find a place to live the rest of her life.   As he led her through the forest and to where she would eventually find some safety, I kept asking myself what would the next twist be.  Who would appear and turn her world upside down?    I was surprised and thrilled with the next turn, I will not share who or what it was as it will give away too much of the story, but oh my…. I loved it!

I highly recommend this entire series.  I do recommend that you read the first book before reading the second as the story definitely continues where the other left off.   Colleen Oakes is an author that I look forward to more from.  Book three in this series better come out soon.  I need to know what happens.

Book Links

About the author:
Colleen Oakes is the author of the Elly in Bloom series and the YA fantasy Queen of Hearts Saga, both published via SparkPress, a BookSparks imprint. She lives in North Denver with her husband and son. When not writing, Colleen enjoys swimming, traveling, and immersing herself in nerdy pop culture. She is currently at work on the last Elly novel and her second YA fantasy series, Wendy Darling.

Connect with the author:

1 comment: