Friday, June 29, 2012

Ocean Beach By Wendy Wax

I don’t know about ya’ll, but it is HOT here in Tennessee! And nothing is better than drinking a big glass of sweet tea and reading on a hot day and Ocean Beach by Wendy Wax is a perfect summer read!

Ocean Beach is the “next chapter” in the lives of Nicole, Avery and Maddie, who were first introduced to readers in Ten Beach Road by Wendy Wax (2011). I have not read Ten Beach Road nor do I feel you have to in order to read Ocean Beach. I was able to read along just fine. However, after reading Ocean Beach I will say I’d love to read any and everything Wendy Wax has written! 

An unusual group of friends are working together to get a home renovation TV pilot off the ground. These ladies aren’t looking for TV celebrity, but wanting to get their lives back on track. That’s right a story about empowering women and home renovation—I loved it from get go! 

These lovely ladies are looking for a Do Over, while restoring an old Miami South Beach Mansion (Nice!). The owner of the mansion is Max Golden, an elderly gentleman who in his prime partied with the rat pack. Max isn’t just looking to have his home restored, he is looking for something or better yet someone. 

When the ladies arrive at the Miami house to start the renovation and filming for their show, they are shocked to find out the television network has decided instead to turn the whole thing into a reality show. Avery feels a loss of control and begins to fear the network will portray her as a bimbo who doesn’t know how to run a construction site. Nicole has been hoping to get her match making business back off the ground, but fears a ‘reality’ show is only going to cast a bright light back on her brother the criminal. And Maddie isn’t sure her marriage can take it.

There are also a few other characters in the story. Deidre who is the decorator and Avery’s estranged mother. Deidre is looking to find a way back into her daughter’s life and Avery wants very little to do with her. There is also Kyra, Maddie’s daughter. Kyra is video recording the renovation and has an adorable baby boy, Dustin. And Dustin’s dad is a famous actor who just so happens to show up in Miami South Beach to work on a movie.

With the cameras rolling, the women pull up their sleeves and get to work. But it isn’t long before their real lives are playing out in front of the cameras—in a big way! 

I loved this book! I just fell in love with all the characters, especially Max! I could see why the ladies wanted to help him. I enjoyed the numerous stories lines and never felt it got confusing. There is a little mystery in the book, but I figured it out right away. I did enjoy how I kept waiting for someone to figure it out in the book. I was sort of surprised at the end because not everything felt fully resolved. I have to admit I liked that. I can’t help but think we’ll see these ladies again! I sure hope so!

Honestly, there wasn’t anything about this book I didn’t enjoy—the closer to the end of the book the more I enjoyed it! 

Grab a copy for your beach bag! I’m recommending Ocean Beach!

Reviewed by Laura




Wendy's Website | Twitter | Facebook

Thursday, June 28, 2012

THE 5 W'S OF Wendy Wax

Wendy Wax is the author of eight novels. Her books have been highly praised and featured in national publications such as USA Today and Woman’s World. We are so excited to share with you
The 5 W's of Wendy Wax
WHO? 
That feels like a question one could spend years in therapy trying to answer, but I’ll do my best!  I’m originally from St. Pete, Florida, so even though I’ve lived in Atlanta for many years now, I still love to send my characters to the beach when I can, but maybe you could’ve guessed that from the title of my latest novel…OCEAN BEACH!.  (Of course I have to go to the beach often for research… no really, it’s my job… I have no choice.)

I’m also the mother of two college-aged sons (how did that happen?) and so for years I’ve been the only woman in a house of men.  Maybe that’s why I write stories about women.  After all, I think I’ve had enough testosterone to last a lifetime!

As a writer, I think I take equal parts “life experience”, “what-if scenarios” and “women who keep moving forward in the face of adversity” and mix them together to create stories that real women can relate to.  I write for and about women that I’d like to have a glass of wine with…  women who are not perfect, but are maybe just a little stronger than they even realize!

WHAT? What do you enjoy doing other than writing in your spare time?
I’m not sure I know what “spare time” is!  Like most women I know, I am a wife and mother, a daughter, a sister, a friend and of course a consummate multi-tasker.  When I’m not writing, I’m managing my kids, my husband and my home, all while trying to stay away from the refrigerator, get myself to Zumba class, catch my sons’ baseball games, make time for a glass of wine with my girlfriends, do the grocery shopping, hit the one day sale at the mall and read a good book here and there.  When I do get a spare minute or three… I love a walk on the beach (not easy to achieve in Atlanta), going to the movies with my husband or girlfriends, trying a new restaurant and er… even redecorating the occasional room…(but don’t tell my husband I said that! Sometimes he doesn’t even notice!)

WHEN? When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
I think I always dreamed of being a writer.  I’ve been a voracious reader since childhood and  books have always been a big and very influential part of my life.  For example, I read GONE WITH THE WIND one too many times and then decided to go to college in Georgia because of it.  I was a journalism major and wrote for radio, television and corporate projects, but It wasn’t until after I was married and raising my two very young sons that I actually decided to try fiction—a decision I chalk up to post pregnancy hormones and lack of sleep! (I had no idea how difficult a path I had chosen.) Actually, when I think back on it now, it’s kind of amazing that I waited that long!

WHERE? Where do you write? 
I have an office right in my house where I go every day to write.  The idea was that I’d set up this beautiful space, surround myself with my things, enjoy the view of the garden right outside the window and all of the outside pressures like the needs of my family, the load of laundry that needed to be folded, and the oh-so-tempting refrigerator would all be blocked out so I could focus on my writing.  It doesn’t work exactly like that… but it’s a nice theory!

WHY? Why do you write?
That would be a little bit like asking why I breathe!  Most writers write because they just can’t help it.  Though I love seeing my work in print and I love meeting readers and fans, the job is not nearly as glamorous as it seems.  (If you want to know what it’s really like in the world of publishing check out my book THE ACCIDENTAL BESTSELLER and you’ll get an idea!)  So… why do I write?  I write because that’s how I express myself and because I can’t imagine not writing.  I’m so fortunate that readers keeping picking up my books and I get to keep doing this… so thanks from the bottom of my heart to all of you!


Thank you so much for joining us here at A Novel Review! I have to admit I love how you need to go to the beach for 'research'! Maybe if I changed by blog to Beach Bum Reviewer I could convince my husband I need to read my books at the beach (thus need to move to the beach) :) I'm going to work on this! 

Wendy's Website
Facebook

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Finding Out by Sheryn MacMunn

I picked up Finding out on Saturday afternoon thinking I would read a couple chapters to see what this novel was all about.  Many chapters later I forced myself to stop and take a break.  I was hooked!
Sheila Davenport came home from a stressful weekend of work and finds Joe, Her live-in boyfriend of seven years, standing on the sidewalk in front of their home waiting to break up with her.  Joe not only breaks up with her but has already moved out of their apartment taking only his personal pictures and bedroom set with.

While Sheila is trying to figure out her personal life, at work one of the “Big Bosses” hires a friend’s egotistical privileged daughter, Crystal.  Crystal is not an easy person to work with and Sheila, a five year employee, has been put in charge of training her and helping her adjust. 
Ruth, Sheila’s older widow neighbor, has been keeping Sheila company and distracting her with stories of her childhood visit to Germany during Hitlers rein.  The stories are told by a young Ruth as her and her siblings are hidden from the soldiers.  These stories help Sheila unravel the wreck that her life has turned into. 

I loved how this novel mixed history and life stories.  The novel moves so easily between the present time and Ruth’s Stories of her past.  I’m not sure which I enjoyed more, both were page turning, stay up late, I can’t put the novel down.

Everyone has people like Crystal in their work place.  It was fun watching Sheila learn to work with her.  By learning how to deal with her, I saw Sheila grow a stronger back bone and stand up for herself  and get more respect from the people around her.  It is something a lot of people need to learn how to do, but not always an easy thing to do. 

Finding Out is Sheryn MacMunns first novel.  June of 2014 cannot come soon enough for the realease of the next novel.  Everyone should read this novel.  My mom, sister, neighbors, and co-worker all are going to.
Reviewed by Charlotte


Sheryn MacMunn's Website
Sheryn MacMunn on Facebook
Sheryn MacMunn on Twitter

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Review for Monarch Beach by Anita Hughes


Monarch Beach is the debut book from author Anita Hughes. Amanda Blick is a middle aged wife and mom who has a great life--until one Tuesday morning. Tuesday morning she finds her gorgeous husband, "enjoying" the restaurants sous chef.

Now, what you need to know about Amanda is she is loaded! So after finding another woman's legs wrapped around her husband, her mother suggests a getaway. A getaway for the super wealthy, complete with pool waiters-a stay in the lap of luxury at the St. Regis Resort in Laguna Beach. While enjoying their time in the sun she meets a new guy, making her realize she is more than a wife and mother. She soon realizes the world is still full of possibilities.

I really enjoyed, Monarch Beach! it was light reading with touches of seriousness. It was a different from other books I've read in the sense Amanda was so rich she could escape more easily than anyone I know. There is lots of name brands listed, in someways I thought it made Amanda shallow--however I was reminded near the end of the book Amanda was really into fashion.

I would say I never overly liked or disliked Amanda. But that's ok, because I really enjoyed the book. This is a fantastic book to take to the beach! And I'll tell you what if you can't hit the beach this summer just grab yourself a copy of Monarch Beach, a fruity drink and stick your feet in the kiddie pool because Anita is gonna bring the beach to you!

I'm definitely recommending Monarch Beach for your beach bag!

Reviewed by: Laura Kay

Monday, June 25, 2012

THE FIVE W’S Of Anita Hughes

I am so very excited to welcome Anita Hughes to A Novel Review! Anita's debut book is Monarch Beach out June 2012 and is already getting early praise. Without further ado...

THE 5W'S OF ANITA HUGHES



WHO?  I was born and raised in Sydney, Australia so I’ve always been a beach girl. I’m happy that again I’m living next to the ocean. It’s so calming - you get addicted to seeing it everyday. Besides being a writer, mostly I’m a wife and mother. I love being with my children, whether it is as their chauffeur, or school lunch maker, or just curling up with them on the sofa.

WHAT? What do you enjoy doing other than writing in your spare time? I love to walk along the beach, I love eating frozen yoghurt, but mostly I like to read! Sundays I read the Sunday New York Times for hours, the rest of the week I read tons of novels. I also love a great movie - especially one that tells a good story.

WHEN? When did you know you wanted to be a writer? I won a nationwide writing contest sponsored by THE AUSTRALIAN newspaper when I was eight. A photographer came to our house to take my picture (I had a coconut haircut - not very flattering) and the headline read "Australia’s Next Best Writers." That was pretty heady for an eight year old. Of course, it was years before I saw my name in print again, but at that point I became pretty determined.

WHERE? Where do you write? I write at my laptop, sitting on the love seat in my bedroom. It doesn’t get the internet so there are no distractions (though sometimes I check my emails on my phone). I can see the sunset from the window, and it’s glorious.

WHY? Why do you write? I write because it can be even more fun than reading! I love to create new characters and I feel very protective of them. I love to slip into their world - hours can go by when I’m writing and I forget the real world.

Anita's Website
Anita's Twitter
Anita's Facebook



Thank-you so much Anita for joining us here at A Novel Review! I couldn't agree more about living by the Ocean! We lived in Rhode Island for a short time...just a walk up the street to the beach, ocean views wherever we went...I miss it so much.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Blood Orchids by Toby Neal


I would call this novel a murder/mystery with just enough romance.  A perfect read!

Lei Texeira is the main character of the story.  She has spent half her life in Hawaii and half in California.  When her mother overdoses on drugs and her father is sent to jail, she is sent to California to live with her Aunty.  She returns to Hawaii as a police officer, where she is put on a serial rapist/killer case and has a stalker to deal with.  These cases open memories she has buried from the past forcing her to deal with them.

Michael Stevens, the secondary character, is not only Lei’s co-work on the rapist/killer case but also her compelling love interest.  With his patience and understanding their story develops wonderfully.  There are a great many wonderful and touching scenes between Stevens and Lei.
I loved how Toby Neal kept me guessing.  I would catch a clue and think that I knew who the stalker or killer was and then something would happen to make it obvious that I was so wrong.  I was kept guessing til almost the end of the book and after all was said and done I had that AH-HA moment where it all made sense.

Toby Neal wrote a great novel.  Grabs you from the very beginning and keeps you into it til the very last page.  I love a great murder/mystery story, the romance was just an added perk.  Everyone should check out Blook Orchids, A Lei Crime Novel.  I shall be anxiously awaiting the next novel’s release.
Reviewed by: Charlotte

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

So Far Away by Meg Mitchell Moore


Natalie Gallagher is a thirteen-year-old girl whose life seems to be falling apart. Her dad packed up his things and left, her mom can barely drag herself out of bed, and her onetime bff, Hannah Morgan, is now part of a group of kids who is cyber bulling her. When her English teacher assigns a project, Natalie decides to put her all into researching her family tree in hopes of standing out in a positive way.

Kathleen Lynch works with the archives for Massachusetts. A widow who is haunted by her past, wishing she’d done things differently with her ‘missing’ daughter. Research for Natalie’s family tree is what brings the two together. Kathleen can’t help but see similarities between her estranged daughter Susannah and Natalie—but maybe she can save Natalie.

In a search for answers, Natalie comes across an old journal of an Irish immigrant named, Bridgette. Bridgette's story seems so different than Kathleen and Natalie's. Bridgette works as a house keeper/nanny for a wealthy family in the 1920's. Yet it is her story that teaches Natalie and Kathleen timeless life lessons.

Personally, I had no idea how all these different stories could possible come together, but let me just say wow. Just wow. Moore did an amazing job of tying everything together.  I knew So Far Away was a book about cyber bulling, but the story is so much more than that.

I had so much compassion for Natalie and I felt so awful for her. Her parents did nothing but frustrate me, especially her mother. Not only was I frustrated by her parents I could also appreciate there was much more to their story than Natalie was aware of.

I think one of my favorite storylines was Neil; he was so under my radar through most of the novel. His character had a slow build. I really enjoy his personality and his relationship with Kathleen. I was very surprised at the end. I was literally cooking at the stove with the book in my hand! I didn’t want to stop reading!

I was hooked from the very beginning. I wanted to know the story behind Susannah. I wanted to know all about Natalie and I wanted Natalie to be ok. I wanted Kathleen to be fulfilled and I just couldn’t put the book down. So Far Away is being added to my list of favorite books of the year!
Reviewed by: Laura Kay


Meg Mitchell Moore is the author of The Arrivals and So Far Away. She worked for several years as a journalist. Her work has been published in Yankee, Continental, Women’s Health, Advertising Age and many other business and consumer magazines. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband and their three children.


Meg Mitchell Moore's website
Find Meg on Facebook
Follow Meg on Twitter


"Moore effortless moves between a teenage cyberbullying victim, a mother who longs for her lost daughter, and a 1920 Irish domestic with a shocking secret. The result is a powerful page-turner about love, loss, motherhood and friendship." 
J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Maine and Commencement.


Friday, June 15, 2012

The River Witch by Kimberly Brock


With her grannies Sacred Heart songs, Roslyn Byrnes heads to Manny’s Island, Georgia for a reprieve from the world around her. Having recently suffered from a career ending car accident and a miscarriage, she just needs some time to herself. Once getting to the house, that’s the last thing she gets.

The home she rents is owned by the Trezevants family. Who bring their family problem/issues to her doorstep where she welcomes them in. With them, they bring a little family drama, dark history, hoodoo, and a ten year old little girl named Damascus who is looking for magic and a way to connect with her mother by growing pumpkins in Roslyn’s backyard.

The River Witch, is magical on so many levels. Kimberly Brock’s writing is simply beautiful; it felt almost lyrical as I read. The story itself is filled with a number of layers all dealing with what each character has lost and finding a way to heal.

I fell in love with Damascus. I hurt for her, I cheered for her and I cried for her. For me she really tied everything together. It was easy to see a little girl needing some way to connect with her mother—that desire, but what she really needed was to be filled by those around her. We do that as adults, I think. We get lost in our own grief and sadness. We forget there is life and beauty around us, we need to carry on with the love of those we’ve lost. By moving on, living and loving, we honor them. Because when we allow grief to steal our light, everyone loses—everyone is touched by the darkness.

I highly recommend The River Witch. You won’t want to put it down until you get to the end—and the end will have you reeling!
Reviewed by: Laura Kay

Get to know Kimberly
Praise for The River Witch: "Kimberly Brock has an amazing voice and a huge heart; The River Witch welcomes the reader to a haunted landscape, authentically Southern, where the tragedies of the past and the most fragile, gorgeous kind of love-soaked hope are equally alive. This is one debut that you absolutely should not miss." ~~ Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times Best-Selling author of Backseat Saints  "Kimberly Brock's The River Witch achieves what splendid writing ought to achieve - story and character that linger in the reader's consciousness. Such is the power of Roslyn Byrne, who retreats to Manny's Island, Georgia, in search of herself, only to discover her great need of others. Tender and intriguing, often dazzling in its prose, this is a mature work of fiction worthy of the celebration of praise." ~~ Terry Kay, Honored Georgia author of To Dance With the White Dog "There is magic and wonder in "The River Witch," but the real enchantment here is the strength of the characters Roslyn and Damascus. Their voices are the current that carries the reader along in this compelling tale of healing and discovery." ~~ Sharyn McCrumb, New York Times Best-Selling author of The Ballad of Tom Dooley "With lyrical prose, Kimberly Brock explores the hidden places of the heart. The River Witch is a magical and bewitching story that, like a river, winds its way through the soul. In the voices of her wounded characters, Brock takes us through both the breaking and the healing of a life." ~~ Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times Best-Selling author of Driftwood Summer

Monday, June 11, 2012

The Lost Daughter by Lucy Ferris + Giveaway


While in high school Brooke finds herself unexpectedly pregnant.  Alex, her high school sweetheart, finds himself in the horrible place of having to deliver prematurely the baby in a seedy hotel room.  Having hidden the pregnancy no one realizes that they just dispose of the newborn.

Fifteen years later, Brooke is married and has a daughter with her husband, Sean.   Alex is recently divorced after suffering the death of his young son.  Neither Alex nor Brooke have shared the burden of their secret with anyone else in the lives.  His reappearance in her life has begun to threaten her current life.  Brooke and Alex must not confront what they have been unable to face.   While searching for the truth Brooke finds what she believed to have happen to not be the whole truth.  In finding the truth, Brooke and Alex both find the strength to move forward with their lives and find the happiness they both have denied themselves.

The emotions in this novel tugged at my heart from the very first page. The relationships between all the characters were very painful and felt extremely real.  I felt myself being pulled deeper and deeper in Brooke and Sean’s family problems.  Feeling Brookes fear and pain as she searches for the truth of what happen to her baby that horrible night in the hotel and her fear in how her husband and family will react to knowing what happen.  The Lost Daughter is amazing.  Such sensitive subjects being brought up so tastefully and carefully.  If you enjoy and great read with a deep and beautifully written story this is a book for you.
Reviewed by: Charlotte



Here's your chance to win a copy of The Lost Daughter! We have one copy to giveaway to someone with a US address! The winner will need to respond to our email within 48 hours and no PO boxes. Good-luck!



Praise for THE LOST DAUGHTER

“The Lost Daughter delivers the goods: flawed but sympathetic characters and a plot that will keep readers turning the pages voraciously. From its harrowing prologue to its final sentences, I was emotionally engaged with this fine novel.  Ferriss is a masterful storyteller.”
—Wally Lamb, New York Times bestselling author of The Hour I First Believed,
She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much is True
“[A] powerful domestic novel.”
—Kirkus Reviews
“The Lost Daughter is a complex, engaging novel about guilt, secrecy, and the mysteries of family. Lucy Ferriss is a courageous and thought-provoking writer.”
—Tom Perrotta, New York Times bestselling author of The Abstinence Teacher,
Little Children and The Leftovers
“…[A]n emotionally riveting story of reliving mistakes, seeking redemption, and finally facing the consequences of a difficult decision….Ferriss infuses the story with a heady dose of realism….The Lost Daughter manages to be a romantic family novel with a palpable atmosphere of impending calamity.”
—Booklist

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Fallen by Lauren Kate



The story of Luce starts slowly, but catches your attention.  Luce is sent to Sword and Cross, a private reform school, as a last resort after her ex-boyfriend dies in a fire everyone thinks she caused.    While at the school, Luce meets two different boys.  Cam is the “in your face” always happy to be near Luce.  Daniel is standoffish bad boy of the school.  Guess which one Luce falls for?

The story continues on telling the struggle Luce has not falling for Daniel.  Eventually, Luce realizes Daniel and Cam are Fallen Angels and that not all Fallen Angels are good guys.  She realizes that many of her friends at the Sword and Cross are not who she thinks they are.  Eventually, she learns that she is not who she thought she was.  The odd things that happen to and around her and not necessarily as it seems.

Although I initially struggled with reading this book, I am anxiously awaiting the time to start Book 2 of this series, Fallen.  The friendships Luces makes at the reform school truly show how far a best friend would go to help or save her friend.  The romance between Daniel and Luce is just starting and I cannot wait to see how it grows.  Luce is special, how special I am still waiting to find the answer.  I have just downloaded book 2 and cannot wait to start.  Definitely worth reading and sharing.

Reviewed by Charlotte

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Alice Bliss by Laura Harrington

The tears flowed while reading this book.  Highly recommend keeping Kleenex nearby!

I do not believe I have ever read a book written in the point of view of a teenager. What a great experience!  I could feel what she was feeling as I am a mother to a teenager.

This book shows the intimate story of a family whose father is called to active duty in a time of war.  Laura Harrington amazing book, Alice Bliss, tells the life story of a teenage “Daddy’s Girl”, Alice Bliss, struggling with her father, Matt, being shipped out of upstate New York with his National Guard unit to Iraq.  She misses all the time they spent playing baseball, working in the garden, and helping him with an occasional working job.  She realizes life does go on even if her dad isn’t there to witness it.  Alice joins the track team, attends her first dance, and falls in love, all while missing her dad terribly. The change from tomboy to young woman was very poignant.  Alice, while trying to remain strong, finds that she has to take care of her sister and her mother.  The mother, Angie, seems to drop the ball a few times I found I could not blame her.  Ellie, Alice’s younger sister, appears to not be as affected but definitely feels the loss of her dad and becomes closer to her mother.

In this book you hear and feel the ups and downs that a family goes through when the father is called to active duty in a time of war.   I was in tears reading Alice Bliss.  Trying to imagine ho w I would react and keep my life going in I was put in this position tugged at my heart.   Alice Bliss tells the story of what many families in America are going through.  It opened my eyes and made me appreciate the families of military persons.

If you manage to make it through the book without tears you can still feel all the fear, loneliness, and losses of the Bliss Family.  You can also feel the love and the hope they have for each other.

Reviewed by: Charlotte

Friday, June 1, 2012

THE FIVE W’S Of Jackie Pilossoph

Jackie Pilossoph author of HOOK, LINE AND SINK HIM, JACKPOT!, and a third book coming out this year FREE GIFT WITH PURCHASE  is here today on A Novel Review to let us know what are

The 5 W's of Jackie Pilossoph

WHO? 
I’m a single mom whose kids are my life.  I love being a mother more than anything else I’ve ever done in life. But, I’m also a dramatic romantic. I LOVE love stories and romantic comedy movies and chicklit. I enjoy setting people up.  I love meeting girls out and having wine and talking about girl stuff, such as relationships, sex, celebrity gossip, and shoes. And I love my family. We all live in different cities but we all call each other every day and when something is going on with one of us, everyone calls everyone and tells them. It’s kind of funny.

WHAT? What do you enjoy doing other than writing in your spare time?
When I’m not writing, I’m spending time with my kids. They’re 8 and 10. I embarrass my son a lot by cheering too loudly at his basketball games, and my favorite thing to do with my kids is cuddle under blankets, eat popcorn and watch a movie. I love watching them grow up and I’m constantly amused at the hilarious things that come out of their mouths. When I’m not with my kids (or writing) I’m at the gym. I do kickboxing and strength classes. And I love meeting girlfriends for coffee or a drink.

WHEN? When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
I started writing about 10 years ago when my son was born. When he was napping, I would run to my computer and write love stories and love scenes and it was like an escape from motherhood for an hour or two. I got to re-live my single days on my computer! My writing turned from a hobby into a career when I got divorced. Emotions were pouring out of me and all I wanted to do was write. It gave me great comfort and always made me feel better, so I kept doing it. And the more I did it, the better of a writer I became.

WHERE? Where do you write? 
I write at my kitchen table. It’s a really bright room and I love the smell of coffee. The combination of writing and drinking coffee is heavenly. I love to write early early in the morning before my kids get up. By the time they’re up, I feel like I’ve already accomplished so much for the day.

WHY? Why do you write?
Writing makes me feel really productive and talented. Sometimes I look at something I’ve written in the past and I think, ‘I can’t believe I wrote this, it’s horrible.’ So, I rewrite it and then I think, ‘Wow, I’m good!’  I also write because I truly believe it’s the best form of therapy in the world. I take real life situations and turn them into novels and it helps me deal with what happened and sort it out. And at the same time, I’m telling a very entertaining, engaging story. Try it! You’ll get addicted!

Thank-you so much for joining us, Jackie! I have to say Girls Night Out--wine...I'm so in! Wishing you the best of luck on your newest book! Can't wait to learn more about it!

If you missed it, make sure to read Charlotte's review of Jackie's book JACKPOT! Or better yet get yourself a copy! :D

Get to Jackie better by following her:
Website
FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.